Poets logo

agape

to forgive yourself

By R.C. TaylorPublished 3 days ago 1 min read
agape
Photo by Alex Shute on Unsplash

just in awe of life

i never thought it would be like this

remembering the days my mama sang

crying because we didn't have enough money

hearts pressed together in the dark like a torch

i'll never forget how my sick puppy taught me what death was

the taste of honeysuckle by the softball field as i ran

then my grandfather was gone too. oh...we don't just run...away

the sun was always warmer in June like an embrace

i became trauma, a teabag steeped in a teacup too long

love by another name was born when i loved myself

the sea swallowed me whole, feet first like a giant

the ships became safe in the harbor again, lighthouse built

i didn't want to leave, to let go

forgiveness was planted

"i knew you"

"you did but i'm no longer you"

"don't abandon me too"

"we're together now and i'll always listen to you"

another door

left open

_______________________________________________

If you like to listen to music while you read below is the song that inspired this poem:

love poemssad poetryinspirationalFree VerseFamily

About the Creator

R.C. Taylor

I write to invoke, to process, to honor, to resurrect, and—sometimes—to grieve but, above all, I write to be free.

Follow along for stories about a little bit of everything (i.e. nostalgia and other affairs of the heart).

🌱Facebook🌱

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsden2 days ago

    this is a journey, some days I am way better than others. Thank you for sharing

  • ROCK 2 days ago

    So beautiful; I am reading Don Ruiz Miguel's, "The Four Agreements" right now and "self-love" is truly a test of faith. I always put myself down and suddenly I am a 61 year old who discovered a lot of "I wish I had's". If I could give any one gift to a friend or family member, the lesson of loving who they are and forgiving their faults would be first on my list. I hope this make T.S.!

  • "i'll never forget how my sick puppy taught me what death was" "i became trauma, a teabag steeped in a teacup too long" Those were my favourite lines. Your poem was so poignant and I loved it!

  • John Cox3 days ago

    I love the theme and rendering of this beautiful poem. Loving ourselves is the hardest lesson of all.

  • S.K. Wilson3 days ago

    So good! 🩷

  • The Dani Writer3 days ago

    My goodness R.C! This was all kinda feels! Those times versus these times. Community versus digital age. Some things can't compare on equal footing and sometimes...it really doesn't matter. Elegantly done my friend 💕

  • Very relatable and beautifully written.

  • It is a nicer way of thinking. Other wise we can't get rid of guilty.

  • Andrea Corwin 3 days ago

    This is beautiful - another door left open is an amazing ending. ❣️

  • angela hepworth3 days ago

    Your ending was so stark and perfectly executed. Amazing piece! The teabag steeped for too long was a great metaphor.

R.C. TaylorWritten by R.C. Taylor

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.