Poets logo

Afterlife Abstinence

No Fear in Death

By Michael R. DonohoePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
My acrylic painting, "Looking Down the Cross"

Are there heathens in heaven? Are there angels in hell? Eat the bread that's unleavened and take a drink from the well.

All the perfect are taken. And the rest have been lost. With my life so forsaken the price of death is no cost.

I've done what I can to forge a self from my loss. If God had for me any plan it was that I should be tossed.

Yet hell would not have me. For I laugh at their worst. I leave Satan in tears to know one so cursed.

That the judgment means nothing. For I've judged God as well. Every breath is a miracle. From my first days I fell.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Michael R. Donohoe

New Mexico. I was an honors English major in college and have published fiction nonfiction, and poetry. Working on a dark fantasy novel about mother earth, animals, and consumans. I make art and live with too many cats.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.