Poets logo

Affects of Revolution

Marsha P Johnson

By minnie aynaj Published 2 years ago 2 min read
1
Affects of Revolution
Photo by ev on Unsplash

This time a year

I commend myself for being everything

I couldn’t see

Black

Beautiful

Queer as I could be

Cooperations celebrate me

Colors

Parades, charades, meals, deals

Extra love from fam-ily

June 1st is the best time time I could be me

Wearing my pink, blue, yellow

With smiles and love in their eyes

But I hardly recognize the hatred and disappointment in their eyes for they pretend

Because lord knows they can’t take

Being called a germaphobe for homophobia

so I form a smile

Around this time I see my beautiful

Black

queer

brothers and sisters

Celebrating not only their skin but their

Queerness

Oh this is what I love to see

What I love to feel

What I love to breathe

I see them and they see me

I’ve dreamt of a world where everyone sees how beautiful my brothers and sisters can be

Without their degrading words to match their uprising attitudes

I watch the parades

Where there’s nothing but colors

Love

And glory

Oh how I wish everyday was a celebration for those who don’t feel seen

There has always been fighting, scarring

Since the world fears

What they don’t understand

I try my best to speak in any microphone I see

I yell calmly with all my might

About how beautiful

Queerness is

It’s beyond colors

Parades

Smiles

Laughs

Kissing your partner

With no fear of someone marking you with violence

It’s the knowing and feeling you’ve accepted yourself

You don’t have to put on the disguise

No, we can realize the danger

Can finally wear

Those rainbow suspenders

or baggy jeans for the world to see

Now you can be free

But now is the time

July 1st has hit and everyone forgets

The people who didn’t come to the parades

They forget how many black transgender lives were took before they can celebrate their contribute to the world

They forget the teenager on the curb looking for something to eat

Because fear runs thicker than blood

They forget the lives that were fought and took to reach this point

The streets are back filled with cars and left over colors

The next day comes and I feel undiscovered

as I walk into the living room

Telling

Preaching

How I missed the collaborations of celebrations for my brothers and sisters

But now I’m met with no one assuring me I’m still loved and cared for after the balloons are popped

It’s no surprise they can’t put on their charade for that long

It was exhausting for them to care

And it was exhausting for me to know

So I go into my hibernation

I make a sign stating there still is a fight for the unseen

They need to believe me when I say there is so much more that needs attention and

I need to mention corporations, companies, families all failed to mention

The ones who gave their

Blood

Sweat

Tears

Friends

Families

Love

their Life

To be near the celebration

So I stand here with my big sign because I know my brothers and sisters

Need to know there is still someone on the battle field

Waiting for the next revolution of celebration.

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

minnie aynaj

SPECIFICALLYBLACKPEOPLE!Any one who reads my poems and stories just know you are safe,loved and seen. My profile can be a place where you breathe and trauma dump, just know someone in this world loves you for who you are and plan to become.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.