Poets logo

Older Children

Inglewood

By minnie aynaj Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

As you wake up I see the bags under your eyes

This is not something new

before you were

Let out of the bloom

I watched you struggle to get out of bed

To find the reason to eat what’s on your plate

For I can’t blame you if you were taught to hate the way the plate reflects your face

I hope you know I see you eager to smile

But your home has made the rainy days seem like Thunder was coming your way

I know you haven’t slept in days

The child next to you is wide awake

They couldn’t play today

Or any day

As they wait for you to arise

The hope they can play with no intention

Is the day you can sleep

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

minnie aynaj

SPECIFICALLYBLACKPEOPLE!Any one who reads my poems and stories just know you are safe,loved and seen. My profile can be a place where you breathe and trauma dump, just know someone in this world loves you for who you are and plan to become.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.