Poets logo

A world where shadows don't belong

Poem

By Muhammad SherazPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
A world where shadows don't belong
Photo by Martino Pietropoli on Unsplash

I'm swimming in the skies
skies burning all around
my world was on fire
the fire scalding me from the insides

I look around to find people and their own worlds
Their worlds where the skies weren't burning,
I reach out my hand towards them,
But, my hands pass through them

My world is burning and I am alone
Is it me or is it everything else which is fake
So, I search around for my one and only companion
My companion, my shadow isn't by my side

My world is burning, I must be dreaming
I must be dreaming nightmares
Nightmares which aren't half horrific as the reality
The reality I have to wake up to

My world is burning, but it's morning now
Morning where the nightmare ends and reality dawns
By dawn I wake up
my world still is burning, my shadow hasn't returned

My world is burning, I now realise
I realise there is so much light and yet there's no shadow
The shadow which left me, the evil shadow shall not come back
For this burning fire has cleansed my sins away

I smile to myself, my world is no longer burning
With my evil shadow gone, I have no one to hold me back
I embrace myself for now there are no restraints
A world with no holding back

My shadow was where all my sins and fears housed themselves
My nightmare was the past
The fire is my present cleansing all my sins and burning my fears
And a new world shall present itself in the morning

The morning comes and I know
I know I shall not hold back my fire
I shill live where my shadow can't come back
For all I know, I've cleansed myself, and I shall win, win,
And only win in this WORLD WHERE SHADOWS DON'T BELONG

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.