Poets logo

A whole lot for one

Now it's just me, myself, and I

By Thavien YliasterPublished 6 months ago 6 min read
4
A whole lot for one
Photo by Grant Beirute on Unsplash

My days off finally roll around beckoning me to roll out of bed

If I don't workout this morning I do this evening, to get out of my own head

Dishes are washed as laundry is started, I clean myself last

I exfoliate and scrub all over, moisturizing when I step out of the shower's bath

Garbing up, I make myself decent before going out in public

I brush my teeth and mouthwash before I leave, just in case I talk to others about various subjects

Keys in hand, I lock my door, leaving my abode

Starting the ignition, revving the pistons, I go to hit the road

A small stop before I leave, I'm careful of the cars that pass

I peek around the corners, not wanting to get t-boned or rammed when exiting the pass

I see the highway parallel, before my first stop arrives

Construction took place here, I cruise 'round the circle of what used to be a stop sign

By Shane Rounce on Unsplash

Further down the streets, I stay within my lane

So, when I pull in I'm right in line waiting yet again

I pull up to the pump, squeezing the nozzle to get some gas

I fill 'er up, right and full, a hundred miles more she'll last

Once I'm done I pull away putting air within my tires

Once that's done I park again, yet I have not perspired

By Vitor Paladini on Unsplash

Away from most, and in the back is where I leave my car

"To burn more calories," I say, so I walk afar.

Once inside I grab a cart, for what my hands can't hold

I flash my card and through the doors, my member's star is gold

Past the eyecare and the hardware, I zoom past the tech

"Are there dash cams, like before?" Sadly not as of yet.

I push my cart like I drive a car, drifting around the corners

Shifting gears, saying "Beep! Beeeep!" and "Pardon me," as my warner.

I pass the drinks of alcohol that lines these tall walls

Though they're fine, I've not come to dine on wine, so I make haste and do not stall

To the produce I drift in, picking up their scents

Nectarines of white flesh, peaches, apples, plums, on these my paycheck is spent

By Dmitriy Koryas on Unsplash

Then to the cold room, where there's a breeze, surely I won't freeze

I grab bell peppers and leafy greens, while small children run past my knees

A mom with a tot chases after a snot, they're family, it's apparent

Yet, I still wish for what they have, someday I may be a parent

Onto the meats, of what I see, what deals they have for me

The fish that's rich and from the sea my mouth waters, but my wallet states, "Too Pricey!"

By Kina on Unsplash

Some ground chuck and chicken thighs will help me manage more than fine

Inflation sucks, it kicks my bucks, my chicken was under a dollar, but now per pound it's a buck forty-nine!

Without much thought, I roll past the brats, hoping to be in luck

Sadly, it's too seasonal, they're not in stock for duck

To combat my sad misery

I go and grab a rotisserie

On this I mostly thrive

For a whole bird that only costs five

Dollars to my name

So, I say, "Aight', bet. I'm fair game."

By Amanda Lim on Unsplash

Then I roll on past the cheese picking up a carton of feta crumble

Steering my way back to the eggs, I dodge and dip and do not stumble

"I love omelets," so I grab a pack containing twenty-four

There is no way to get any less without paying for more

To quench my thirst, on down the lane, I'll pick some juice that fits my frame

"Mango, Guava, Passionfruit and Peach, Pure Apple, Orange, all of these are all so sweet!"

Yet, I pick one to drink till it's gone

Of Nectar and Juice over alcohol I'm rather fond

By Francesca Hotchin on Unsplash

At work though it's bread I'm making

I stroll on right past the bacon

No pork belly to fill my belly

"I'll get it next time," is what I tell me

By James Kern on Unsplash

More vegetables and fruit this time, onto the freezer section, what do I spy?

Frozen berries and mangos, and corn and carrots, but I can't forget the stir-fry

By Clem Onojeghuo on Unsplash

More protein for my brain and to keep my figure lean

Off the shelves I go to snatch cases of cans of beans

Yes, I know it'll make me toot

But I've lived simply enough off this magical fruit

Seasonings already in my cabinet, I pass the chips and rice

Whenever I want a salty crunch, in roasted seaweed I'll delight.

By Patrick Perkins on Unsplash

Now, of a sweet tooth, I surely have, but I enjoy them as a fella'

But this time I strolled on by and did not take a glimpse at the nutella

By Jonathan Kemper on Unsplash

As I approach the checkout aisle, I notice the marketing that's sly

Packaged products, sweets and smoked meats, all of it's an impulse buy

I shake my head no, and realize that it's not for me

As I go and grab honey wheat, two loaves of bread from Sara Lee

By Mae Mu on Unsplash

"Self-checkout?" Not this time

I'll simply be patient and wait in line

By Eduardo Soares on Unsplash

"How are You today?"

"I'm doing fine. Check out these peaches, they're quite divine."

"They're still in season?"

"Not for long. Get the gettin' while the gettin's good, before winter sings its song."

"That's your reason?"

"One of these.

I'll also take their seeds and grow some trees."

"Wow, that's neat! And quite a feat!

Hey, newbie, pass the meat.

By the looks of it You eat pretty healthy."

"I do what I can so I can help me."

"You're total's- Well shucks, under a hundred bucks?"

"Good for me, that's just my luck."

By Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash

Before I leave my stomach rumbles as of late,

"Awe, what the heck, why not get myself a chicken bake?"

After my small meal that I eat

I'm out the door, putting the groceries' on my car's floors and seats

On my way back, I gently cruise

Lest my groceries end up getting bruised

When at my abode, I bring them in bit-by-bit

I don't stop till they're all out, I don't quit

I wash the fruit and store the meats

Before I leave I'll have a treat

Out from the sink, I'll rinse it off and sink my teeth into the pristine

Flesh of the White Flesh Nectarine

This marvelous ovary of nature is a pure dream

It makes my mouth water at the scene

"What about saturation? I need something with a bit of weight."

From the rotisserie I tear off a leg and thigh, adding them to my plate

A glass of water and juice, hopefully to maintain my isotonic osmosis

It's been a while since I ate rice, pasta, any carbs at all; I think I'm in a natural state of ketosis.

When I leave for the book store, I pull up my playlist

"Hit it FALCO!" I drive away. "Rock Me Amadeus!"

***

Thavien's Token:

*Double checking my work*

"Sunova gun!

By Road Trip with Raj on Unsplash

What are You doing, man! Come on! Mackenzie Davis asked for a grocery list, not a grocery expenditure! If You would've taken it one step further You would've written an epic poem about a grocery adventure parodying Homer's Iliad.

*facepalms*

By Creaslim on Unsplash

Back to the drawing board. I'm not even sure if this qualifies. We gotta start from scratch... yet again.

By Cytonn Photography on Unsplash

Hey, Mackenzie, I don't know if this works or not. All I ask is for Your honest opinion.

Peace

Oh yeah, feel free to check out Mackenzie Davis' grocery list challenge. Link's embed below.

sad poetryslam poetryhumor
4

About the Creator

Thavien Yliaster

Thank You for stopping by. Please, make yourself comfortable. I'm a novice poet, fiction writer, and dream journalist.

Instagram

YouTube

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Spectacular list!!! Love ir & the trip to Costco!!!❤️❤️💕

  • But why didn't you buy apples though? Apple seeds can come in handy when you wanna kill someone. Ohhhh, maybe it's because you didn't wanna kill anyone. Oh well, that's sad. Lol! I loved your grocery list turned into poem thingy!

  • Mackenzie Davis6 months ago

    Hahaha that facepalm got me! Nah, doesn't qualify, but it was quite the EPIC adventure. I really enjoyed reading it. :D I love this last section, my personal favorite part: "What about saturation? I need something with a bit of weight." From the rotisserie I tear off a leg and thigh, adding them to my plate A glass of water and juice, hopefully to maintain my isotonic osmosis It's been a while since I ate rice, pasta, any carbsat all; I think I'm in a natural state of ketosis. When I leave for the book store, I pull up my playlist "Hit it FALCO!" I drive away. "Rock Me Amadeus!" Gotta love Costco, though. I can't seem to avoid spending more than $100, but I suppose I'm shopping for 2. So many temptations, especially right before checkout, all those snacks! Your dinner sounds soooo delicious, though. Healthy and scrumptious. ;) Side note: I LOVE roasted seaweed! Haven't had it in ages.

  • Awesome 👍 Job, Nice Healthy, Grocery List😉💚💯✌️I like how you stayed with the rhythm…

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    That was great. You gave us the live list in progress.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.