Poets logo

Fundraising As Team Carrie

The Powwow for Hope and the American Indian Cancer Foundation.

By Denise E LindquistPublished 11 days ago 1 min read
6
Fundraising As Team Carrie
Photo by Carl Hunley Jr on Unsplash

Team Carrie Powwow For Hope Fundraiser

Team Carrie is a family and friends gathering in honor of my sister who died from leukemia in 2010. This year one of her best friends joined us. She is honoring her brother who died of leukemia a few years ago and her sister who is fighting cancer.

Every year the pink shawl people bring attention to breast cancer survivors and caregivers. They give pink shawls and have a dance in support. Other cancer is acknowledged there and there are stories told. The powwow and other activities go on during this afternoon and there is a silent auction.

~~~~

We attend a powwow on May 4, 2024

That is the same day we draw tickets for

prizes, we have Tupperware, and jewelry, or

journals and a coffee table book by a local artist

We have other items that many did not find of interest.

A friend said, I have enough Tupperware, and jewelry, so

I will just donate money honey, and that will be good no?

I have written a book I am editing for sale at the powwow.

Yes, she said, I will buy that and see you there now

Let me know if you need anything more.

I have some jewelry or I can always go to the store.

We have five bid items. 3 items have a starting bid.

We are selling T-shirts and hoodies and kid

you not, we have already met our $500. goal

as one person asked about the goal and stole

this and met our goal. We just keep moving

and don't finish until the day ending!

~~~~

The money all goes to the American Indian Cancer Foundation

Free VerseFamily
6

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran10 days ago

    This was so wonderful Denise!

  • Shirley Belk10 days ago

    My father passed from leukemia...my heart goes out to you.

  • Andrea Corwin 11 days ago

    Oh what a wonderful community and of giving people!!

  • Babs Iverson11 days ago

    Fantastic famoly fundraiser story!!! You already reached your goal and will make so much more!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.