Poets logo

Ask Me How 70 Was In December

69 was not the best year for me!

By Denise E LindquistPublished 13 days ago 1 min read
7
Ask Me How 70 Was In December
Photo by BoliviaInteligente on Unsplash

Your prompt and mission is to write me a poem/lyrics with the subtitle Ask me in December, Babs' unofficial Challenge.

So far, so good! A birthday trip with my children in January. February brought a Poem a Day in February, complete with contests and prizes and so much fun. In March I completed a 28 day reboot to declutter.

At 69, I realized just how much stuff I have and how I don't want my children or anyone to have to get rid of all that I have collected over time. Living in the same house since 1997 adds to the clutter. I'm continuing with the decluttering.

Now for the poem:

Declutter me this year

It will cause me to drop a tear

Maybe two or more

I'm not for shore

~

How will this year go?

I am looking forward to know

Can I wait until December

I could go to a lender

Or maybe go on a bender

~

Not!

Just a quick thought

I don't do that anymore

It will be forty-four

sober years in September

another celebration to remember

~

I could borrow money to have it done

Then that would be no fun

I have to sort through it

I have so much s-it

Time to take a break and sit

No need to get lit

I could use to get fit

~

Okay, lots to do as a 70-year-old

Hoping to make this year gold!

~~~~

Free VerseFor Fun
7

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • TheSpinstress2 days ago

    Have an amazing year! I loved this poem. :)

  • Shirley Belk11 days ago

    Love this

  • Hehehehehe loved your poem so much!

  • Mark Graham13 days ago

    You are quite a writer. Continue to declutter and keep writing.

  • Kendall Defoe 13 days ago

    Excellent...and I wish you more years to come!

  • Babs Iverson13 days ago

    Denise, the declutter is so relatable!!!You packed a lot in your poem and loved it!!! ♥ ♥ ♥

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.