Poets logo

Animals And Their Part in the World

So much gratitude for nature

By Denise E LindquistPublished 16 days ago 1 min read
8
Animals And Their Part in the World
Photo by Sunguk Kim on Unsplash

Write an ode to thank animals for their contributions to the earth. Rupi Kaur Gratitude Writing Prompts

Animals are all so great

Both big and small I will state

and how do red-tailed fox rate

up there with bear I relate

~

survivors

thrivers

midnight drivers

seeing at night

when it is not bright

eat the same thing

it isn’t all bling

~

sensitive smell

sensitive hearing

they are both swell

kind of endearing

~

in the country, they are at home

they know just where to roam

we see them more often living there

they are quite the pair

than we do at the zoo, our visit there is rare

~

both are quick

they know how to trick

to keep out of trouble

like living in a bubble

staying out of site

is their way day and night

~

they are seed dispersers

and environment caretakers

learning about medicine from the bears

the mouser from the fox, the rangefinders

gratitude for each of our critters

all playing their part I say!

at night and during the day

animals playing their part today!

~~~~

Note: My abbreviated name in Ojibwe is red-tailed fox running with the stars, my Ojibwe clan is bear, and I am from the White Earth Nation. Wagosh bimibatood indizhinikaz, makwa indodem, gawababiganikag indonzhaba. I believe the stars are all of you writing with me on Vocal and Medium.

~~~~

First published by Penny Press on medium.com

nature poetryOde
8

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Mark Graham15 days ago

    Good work. Animals can teach us humans a lot. I am a descendant of the Iroquoi nation that is/was part of Western PA and so on.

  • This was so wonderful! Loved both your poem and cover photo!

  • Ameer Bibi15 days ago

    I am just loving it, in the country , they are at home, and they know where to roam, such a beautiful and realistic phrases. Excellent

  • Fantastic!

  • Andrea Corwin 16 days ago

    Denise, I am an animal activist on Twitter. I am an animal and nature lover. This is a great poem; thank you for sharing. If you have time and the stomach - look at my just published one Excreta Killer. I am so angry.....people are cruel.

  • Babs Iverson16 days ago

    Spectacular gratitude poem and loved the rhyming!!!❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.