Poets logo

A Summer Vacation Morning

A submission for the Get Comfortable Challenge

By Ryan SmithPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
7

The morning breeze

teases the curtains.

Salt on the morning air

makes the sea in my blood sing.

My feet poke out

from under the covers

to test the day.

An insistent wet nose.

Mother and child,

nestled together, asleep.

Leaving on tip toes,

Four paws close behind.

The expanse of beach,

painted by a shy dawn.

A fresh pallete,

swept clean by the moon.

Cold sand underfoot,

warm coffee in-hand.

Scout runs with abandon,

digging a hole to hold his joy.

The sea is silken and calm

to the horizon and beyond.

A lone fishing boat,

a comet tail of gulls in its wake,

my companion in this breath.

I carve a name in the sand

soon to be swept away

but on my lips forever.

I look back.

A light is on.

A small face at the window,

summer in his smile

and his hair, the colour of sand.

nature poetry
7

About the Creator

Ryan Smith

I'm a good dad, a decent writer, and a terrible singer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    I imagine this is what God envisioned - perfect

  • lyle n2 years ago

    you use sounds as much as images to create this piece-- the flow of the "s' it makes one slow down and linger. I especially like "my companion in this breath"-- you attach the reader to the moment as well.

  • Ward Norcutt2 years ago

    Painted by a shy dawn ...wow!

  • Angel Whelan2 years ago

    Very visual and eloquent!

  • Gerald Holmes2 years ago

    Beautiful words and I love that you included your dog.

  • Caroline Jane2 years ago

    Sigh. Yes.

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    This was pure joy to read and experience :) Beautiful poetry.

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    Wonderfully written! The poem made me feel like I was there experiencing everything for myself.

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    What a nice summer vacation poem, enjoyed it. It’s always nice bring the pet along .

  • 'Salt on the morning air makes the sea in my blood sing.' Loved this line! A very beautifully written poem!

  • Rachel M.J2 years ago

    Sigh, so many lovely lines. "A lone fishing boat, a comet tail of gulls in its wake," and "summer in his smile" are two of my favourites

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Another lovely!!! So many beautiful lines, vacationing beachy Summer time!👏💖😊💕

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Absolutely beautiful. "A fresh pallete swept clean by the moon. Amazing imagery. Well done.

  • Kat Thorne2 years ago

    That was such a beautiful picture you painted!

  • Lucy Smith2 years ago

    Another beautiful poem. So relatable. It puts me right there on that beach with the boy with the hair the colour of sand, and his dog chasing down the beach. Wonderful!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.