Poets logo

A Summer Love to Remember

Memories of a Summer Love That Never Faded Away

By NobodyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2

I wandered down a country road

Towards my grandmother's abode,

And there I met a girl so fair,

With eyes that shone like sunlight's glare.

We walked and talked, the hours flew,

Our laughter echoing in the dew,

And as the sun began to set,

I knew my heart would not forget.

But as the days went slowly by,

And I returned to my parents' lie,

I longed for her and wished to be

Back in her arms, so warm and free.

The memory of her stayed with me,

Through moments of joy and misery,

And though the years have come and gone,

My love for her will e'er be strong.

For in that quaint and peaceful place,

I found a love I could not replace,

And though I'm far from where we met,

My heart still yearns, it can't forget.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Nobody

Help fund my friend’s eye treatment to bring colour back into his world. Even $1 can make a significant difference.

https://ko-fi.com/dreamer9

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Doc Sherwood11 months ago

    Lovely! Very like an old English folk-song, which traditionally were based around pastoral and bucolic motifs. A slightly archaic manner of phrasing helps this along ("a girl so fair," for example) as does the natural-world imagery of sun and dew. Meanwhile, the idea of nostalgically looking back on a bygone love has been resonant throughout the poetry and song of every generation, perhaps because we can all relate to this most bittersweet of experiences. A great poem, deceptively simplistic, but with resonances that make you want to read it again!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.