Poets logo

A Son's Plea

Why Dad

By C. D. GuzmanPublished 28 days ago 1 min read
How my tears would fall

Dad, why did you abuse me, break me so low? Why did your anger always have to show? With

every harsh word and every cruel blow, You shaped a darkness I didn't want to know.

Why did you hate me and wish me to bend, to a mirror of you, on that, you would depend? To beat me until I started to act just like you, To mold me with pain, to force me to be true?

I looked up to you, with hope in my eyes, Dreaming of love, of bonding ties. I just wanted a father, your guiding light, But you turned our days into endless nights.

Each strike, each shout, left scars on my heart, Tearing us further, keeping us apart. I longed for

your kindness, your gentle embrace, But all I received was your wrath, your disgrace.

Why hurt me for wanting to be your son, To share moments of joy, to laugh and have fun? Why punish me for seeking your love, When all I needed was a sign from above?

You wanted me broken, to fit your cruel mold, But in my heart, a story of sorrow is told. A child lost, in a storm of despair, Yearning for a father, who would never be there.

Now I stand, with the echoes of pain, Trying to find sunlight through the rain. I question each moment, I seek to understand, Why you chose to raise a heavy hand.

Dad, why did you abuse me, and break me so low? Why couldn't you see the love I wanted to show? In the shadows of hurt, I search for the sun, For all I ever wanted was to be your son.

surreal poetrysad poetry

About the Creator

C. D. Guzman

After a long 18 years I am finally a free man.

Welcome to my therapy, my thoughts, my struggles, my life.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Margaret Brennan28 days ago

    This is truly sad; reminds me of my ex. In the beginning, when our sons would ask, "Daddy, show me (whatever)", he'd always say, "You're too stupid to learn. Go away." He was the one too stupid to know how to do things. So glad he left when my sons were still young. Your GREAT poem reminded me that my sons didn't need their father to teach them anything. Between my dad and me, they learned all they needed to know.

  • MarLarsen28 days ago

    Making every month extra dollars by doing an easy job Online. Last month i have earned and received $18539 from this home based job just by giving this only mine 2 hrs a day. Easy to do work even a child can get this and start making money Online. Get this today by follow instructions on this website................. www.worksprofit1.com

C. D. GuzmanWritten by C. D. Guzman

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.