Poets logo

A Single Little Pill

FYI: I’m All Right

By Stephanie HoogstadPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
13
A Single Little Pill
Photo by Julia Zolotova on Unsplash

A single little pill, it couldn’t

Be the answer to my prayers

Couldn’t contain all that I need to

Defeat the demons in my head

Evict them from my heart

Fight off the whispers and anxieties they

Give me on a daily, a minute-by-minute basis

Help me pull myself out of the doldrums

*

I cannot see how it can help me,

Just a single little pill, it couldn’t

Kick me out of bed or convince me to see the

Light as any brighter than the darkest cave

*

Maybe I should take one more, and another—

No! Never down that road I will go,

Only to regret it far too late

*

Pills, they are not for me

Quit them while I am ahead

Really, are they doing anything for me?

*

Still, I am not sure

Too afraid to go back now

Undo what progress might have been done

Very possible that it is doing something

Why take the risk after all this time

X out any progress that might have been made

You think I’m insane now but wait until I lose my

Zest for life

***

Author’s Note: I’m all right. I just wonder sometimes if my antidepressants are working as well as they should, and this was my way of working that out in a stream-of-consciousness kind of way.

Stream of ConsciousnessMental HealthCONTENT WARNING
13

About the Creator

Stephanie Hoogstad

With a BA in English and MSc in Creative Writing, writing is my life. I have edited and ghost written for years with some published stories and poems of my own.

Learn more about me: thewritersscrapbin.com

Support my writing: Patreon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Bamimeke Mosesabout a month ago

    😔😌🙏🙏🙏

  • So relieved to know that you're okay! I'm now on Pristiq and Seroquel, and I often wonder the same things as you. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • You too. I'm on Bupropion & Trintellix. Nothing else seemed to help much at all. I'm not sure how much good these are doing either. Blessings.

  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    When I used to be on antidepressants/antianxiety meds, I thought these things, too. After having a Covid related blood clot, I had to get off them. I had a bad time at first, withdrawing. Now I'm doing fine. I think when I was younger and with more stressors I needed help...plus I was married...lol But I did say stressor.

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    Very glad for your reassuring subheading 😁

  • Celia in Underland3 months ago

    I always wondered similar and then I stopped taking them, and found out what they did do x Maybe doc could help with the dosage? Anyway, an elequent way to express your thoughts and very clevely done x You take care 🤍 I'm using banging about FB if you ever feel like a chat 🤍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.