Poets logo

Monsters in the Night

A Monster Under the Bed

By Stephanie HoogstadPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
15
Monsters in the Night
Photo by Stefano Pollio on Unsplash

And now I lay me down to sleep

I pray the Lord my soul to keep

But if I should wake in the night

Be it not from getting a fright

*

As the monsters creep up on me

And open my eyes forcefully

To the anxiety and fear

That I hold to my heart so dear

*

All the work that piles in the day

And my desire to stay away

From people and expectations

And from my own speculations

*

Of how I am constantly judged

All of my worries that have nudged

Me even closer to the edge

Until they can put a firm wedge

*

Between me and my ambitions

Darkening my aspirations

Leaving me the monster inside

Showing itself on the outside

A shadow underneath my bed—

Could it all just be in my head?

*

I now lay me down to sleep

And pray my sanity to keep

If I should wake up from a fright

Keep my monster away tonight.

***

Author’s Note: This was written for RM Stockton’s The Monster Under Your Bed prompt/challenge. For more information and to join in, follow the link below:

Stream of ConsciousnessMental Health
15

About the Creator

Stephanie Hoogstad

With a BA in English and MSc in Creative Writing, writing is my life. I have edited and ghost written for years with some published stories and poems of my own.

Learn more about me: thewritersscrapbin.com

Support my writing: Patreon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Bamimeke Mosesabout a month ago

    Interesting

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    Excellent stuff, last two lines are my favourite. Way to stick the landing!

  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    This was really great in poem form. I just saw this challenge, great entry.

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    That was fabulous. Well done, Stephanie.

  • Oh I love how you remixed that prayer! This was fantastic!

  • Tommy Ballard3 months ago

    Oh I really love how this is structured, fantastic entry!

  • Monsters Inc. for grownups. Nice blend of childhood prayers & adult angst. Well done, Stephanie.

  • Celia in Underland3 months ago

    Wonderfully written, the prayer aspect is so clever. You captured the emotions of doubt and the longing for peace so beautifully 🤍

  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    Good one!!!

  • Oh my! That was so creative to make this a bedtime prayer! You clever girl, Stephanie! There are some incredible lines in your poem. That monster of self-doubt is a scary and powerful monster that haunts many of us. Very relatable!

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    That monster seems pretty unavoidable.

  • Natasha Collazo3 months ago

    Loveeeeee! This was so heartfelt. Great entry!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.