Poets logo

A Remembrance of Willow's

Flowers in a vase

By Christy MunsonPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
5
A Remembrance of Willow's
Photo by Anthony Ievlev on Unsplash

When last I held your trembling hand

When last I knew your name

We sat beside a windowsill

Listening to the rain

*

Listening to the rain alone

Awake but lost in thought

I wonder where you’ve wandered off --

Might I be just as lost?

*

When last you held my trembling hand

When last I knew my name

I lay beneath a willow tree

Weeping through our pain

*

When last I could recall your name

When last I knew your face

You brought me flowers, I recall

They withered in the vase

*

I give this world all that remains

Indeed, I welcome death

I know not what I have become

But you were my last breath

***

Copyright © 03/01/2024 by Christy Munson. All rights reserved.

Familysad poetryMental Health
5

About the Creator

Christy Munson

My words expose what I find real and worth exploring.

Top Stories: 🥳

MAY '24 | MAY '24 | APR '24 | APR '24 |

MAR '24 | MAR '24 | MAR '24 |

FEB '24 | JUN '21

Unofficial Challenge Winners:

Ask Me in December | Story of Humanity

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Charlene Ann Mildred Barroga3 months ago

    This poem beautifully captures the essence of love, loss, and longing, evoking deep emotions that resonate with the human experience.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.