Poets logo

A Real One

Sunrise Conversations

By Sarah JanePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
A Real One
Photo by Harli Marten on Unsplash

As the sun rose

our languages mixed

like the sun mixed through the mist

As the morning revealed itself

and the stars sailed away

He asked me these things,

"Eres perfecto. Estoy confundido."

"Dime, ¿Por qué no tienes novio?"

I smiled and said,

"Soy selectivo y el que quiero es estúpido."

He looked at me confused,

"¿Cómo es estúpido?"

I sighed in grief,

"He's intelligent, but he's stupid enough to listen to his friends. They made him believe the good parts were too good to be true, and that I was hiding something."

He shook his head,

"Siempre es ahí donde sale mal. ¿Qué dijeron sus amigos?"

I looked at him in the eyes

and said, "Le dijeron que no podía confiar en mí."

His jaw dropped in disbelief,

"Wow. That’s immature. He is stupid. It's rare to find a woman like you."

"Eres hermosa, auténtica y inteligente."

"¿Por qué dijeron eso?"

I took a breath and admitted,

"Because we were both hurting when we came together, so we argued sometimes."

He stated simply,

"Like most relationships."

I agreed, "Sí."

"Pero le hicieron creer que solo le haría daño."

"When in the beginning we were always able to solve any problem that arose. But he stopped listening to his heart and instead listened to his friends."

"We could have worked it out. It would have been beautiful."

He smiled and asked me almost jokingly,

"So what are you going to do? Wait for him?"

I replied stern in sincerity,

"No. My love is too precious, and my time is too expensive."

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.