Poets logo

Mixed

Culture, Cadence, and Characteristics

By Sarah JanePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Mixed
Photo by Clay Banks on Unsplash

The sun had been down for hours

The office empty since five

I was often the last one there

but I never did mind

I liked studying the sky

when the stars pierced the sky



After a long day

bleeding into the night

staring at a computer

mapping other worlds

I went out for a drink



Rathskeller

A lonely

underground

whiskey bar



The bartender was kind

She asked me what I’ll have to drink

“I’ll take my whiskey neat.”

She suggested a new one

It was so good

I don’t remember it



The bartender liked my conversation

so we chatted for a while

She had an British accent

but her skin was cocoa brown 

her hair long and black

her frame petite

her eyes deep

her lips juicy



I knew she wasn’t from around here

but she said she’s from Long Beach

I asked how she got her accent

She asked how I got mine

She said she was born in London

I said I was born in the Mojave 

 



I told her I was surprised

to hear her accent

because she looked mixed

She told me was Filipina and British

and was happy I noticed

She asked my ethnicity

“Well my job application classifies me as white.”

She laughed hysterically

She said she recognized

I was mixed too 



I raised an eyebrow

“You’re the first who ever knew.”

“Most people don’t have a clue.”



She asked

"So what are you?"



“I’m a lot of things.”

“I’m mostly German,

but take everything in Europe

and that's also me."


I thought it was beautiful

That I was seen beyond my skin

That I was seen for my culture, my cadence, and my characteristics

She was the first to recognize I'm mixed



fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.