Poets logo

A rare word

with performative power

By VJestizzaPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

Promise,

when I’m around you,

I use my words fearfully.

Tiptoeing softly on a glass roof.

I safeguard uncertainty

in a willful ignorance.

I cradle the anxieties

to avoid a thought of not being your choice.

I choose not to know,

I choose not to ask.

That repels me.

I’d rather wear my word as a badge of honor,

blustering sound to confuse the armies.

I’d call the storms

and reign the waves.

I’d awake the gods

and mage the clouds.

I’d squall the mountains

to end all impossibility.

I’d open wide the world

like a heart of a novice.

If only you would give me yours.

Promise.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Testabout a year ago

    This is beautiful.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.