Poets logo

A profound letter to a grandfather

Did you think of us?

By Ashley ShiflettPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Top Story - September 2022
46
A profound letter to a grandfather
Photo by Yukon Haughton on Unsplash

My grandfather died when I was two. He committed suicide. Before his passing he wrote a letter to me. This is my open letter to him. He often would leave letters around the house for his children and wife would find when he couldn't find the words. I guess my love for writing started with him.

This was written in 2016. It was only then that I was able to cope with what he had done.

We hold onto things. Even when we choose not to say it fragments of the past live on in our hearts.

Still, we continue… Hiding the deep dark secrets that seem almost impossible to get rid of ourselves. The regret, the anger, the sadness. These tormenting emotions that seems time could never heal.

I wonder if you thought about this on that day. I wonder everything about you on that day and even the days before.

I wonder how you were with the people you left behind. Counting down boxing matches, stories about your time in war, and all of the moments you left letters for them to find just so you could tell them you loved them.

I see pictures of you holding me up while smiling proudly that you have seen your child create a miracle. Did you think of me on that day? Did you think of them? Mostly I wonder what it felt like to be you. The pain, and loneliness you felt but didn’t show, hidden by your overwhelming love for your family.

I see the people around me and wonder if they have ever sensed such pain. Do they carry the same shadows as you did? I fear of the darkness you felt. I dread of witnessing another feel it…

Leaving a sting of regret to weave its way into others lives. I’ve watched the ones you have left behind mold themselves into people you would proudly call family. Not a day goes by that I don’t wish you could see that. Not a moment goes by that I don’t ponder what could have been.

The only memories I have of you are painted by the words of others. I can sense hints of you in all of the people whom I cherish most. I will carry that with me always. The future will know of you and know you by more than your dark passenger. I am not angry towards you and they shall not be. You will continue to live on in my heart as well as the hearts of your future generations.

There’s a darkness many of us encounter. Some fight it off with the courage from the ones they love, and some are even able to fight it in silence. I do not hold any bitterness towards you for what you did, and I will cherish every story where your memory lives on.

“I am doing what seems the best thing to do. You have given me the greatest possible happiness. You have been in every way all that anyone could be. I don’t think two people could have been happier till this terrible disease came. I can’t fight any longer.”-Virginia Woolf

Written by Ashley Shiflett

inspirational
46

About the Creator

Ashley Shiflett

I have always had a passion for writing.

I hope to share my love for stories with everyone that I meet. I'm hopeful that in some way they will motivate you, help you smile, or even encourage you through a difficult time.

All are welcome!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    Very moving, Ashley. I think your grandfather would be very proud of you.

  • Tiffany Gordon 2 months ago

    Stunningly Beautiful! Sorry 4 your loss...

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    This is so hard, I can't imagine. I'm glad you've found acceptance and peace.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Many Ma Lan2 years ago

    Great

  • Amy Hall2 years ago

    I enjoyed reading this piece, well done! I subscribed to you! I am just starting out and would very much like if you have time to read some of my work and if you like it please subscribe! I look forward to reading more of your work! Again simply beautiful

  • Danny Granger2 years ago

    Lovely writing. Heartfelt and stays with me after I finished reading.

  • Margaret Brennan2 years ago

    Thank you for sharing this. It helps me put my brother's death in a better perspective. My brother didn't commit suicide but refused all treatment when he was diagnosed with cancer. He died less than a year later. His attitude was, why waste time and money when you can't cure me. You're only extending the inevitable. Again, thank you for helping me understand.

  • Miles Pen2 years ago

    This is very heartfelt and poignant. Great work Ashley. I also posted a poem about losing my wife so I understand your pain.

  • Having lost loved ones to suicide, it’s definitely a deep pain, beautiful tribute…

  • Kat Thorne2 years ago

    Really heart-wrenching, powerful piece. Well done.

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    This is beautiful and touching. Sorry for your loss.

  • Linda Rivenbark2 years ago

    You have written a heart rending story about your grandfather ending his life but leaving you and all his loved ones with the sure and certain knowledge that he loved you all supremely. I am glad you have come to terms with what happened and especially glad that you turned to writing to share your feelings and thoughts with us and all the world. Beautiful story!

  • I'm so sorry for your loss. As a suicide survivor, I think your grandfather must have hit rock bottom in his mental health. But one thing I can say for sure is, he wasn't selfish. It just became to unbearable for him and he experienced the last and worst symptom of depression.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Sad and loving letter to your grandfather!💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.