Poets logo

A plea, a promise

We are not free until we are all free

By Erin BorstPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
A plea, a promise
Photo by Liam Edwards on Unsplash

My pride is not yours to take

Streets run red with blood you make

Ridiculous rules that drown my voice

My golden passion is my choice

My friends in arms, our arms are linked

Green gas tears feel thicker than ink

Feel the pain my brethren share

Black boots stomp by, we gasp for air

I won't stand by, ignore this fight

My life is grey while wrong is right

My love is pure, my heart is beating

Ignored white dress I dream of needing

Your attention is fleeting, I'm just one girl

But destroy my rainbow?

I'll destroy your whole world.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Erin Borst

I enjoy alliteration and repetition

Rhyming, ranting, and ambition

I sing songs I make up on the spot

I tell tales of trinkets I like a lot

I love to look to the moon while my head's in a cloud

I'm a chemist, a writer, a lover, and proud

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.