Poets logo

Are You Mixed?

The monologue that enters my head whenever I get asked a frequent question

By Erin BorstPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Are You Mixed?
Photo by Diego PH on Unsplash

I am mixed with a thousand red roses that burst into flame when a rosy-cheeked heartthrob calls out my name

I am mixed with all seven seas that beat against the sky blue beaches in your wildest dreams

I am mixed with each star that has ever shone a ray of golden light on any sun baked face that fights the good fight

I am mixed with the pitch-black emptiness of space, every shadow, every crevice that stares death in the face

I am mixed with every rainbow that defends a pot of gold, because my heart is open to anyone who will love me when I'm old

Oh...

You meant am I biracial?

social commentary
2

About the Creator

Erin Borst

I enjoy alliteration and repetition

Rhyming, ranting, and ambition

I sing songs I make up on the spot

I tell tales of trinkets I like a lot

I love to look to the moon while my head's in a cloud

I'm a chemist, a writer, a lover, and proud

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.