Poets logo

A Plagiaristic Ode To My Alarm Clock

Using The Titles Of Books By By Bed - For The Vocal Ode To Ordinary Challenge

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 10 months ago β€’ Updated 9 months ago β€’ 1 min read
9
My Alarm Clock
The Books

I hadn't done a Plagiaristic Poem for a while, and I usually use the sonnet, villanelle, or acrostic forms, but I thought I would try another Ode for the Vocal Ode To Ordinary challenge. This time it was my new alarm clock, using the titles of books next to my bed.

The alarm clock wakes me up with a "sunrise light effect" from 5.15 followed by some incredibly gentle birdsong which feels more like part of a dream rather than alarm, but it is a really nice way to be woken.

The Prompt

Write an ode to an ordinary object.

Read more about it here

I will base it on this Pindaric Ode as I cannot really find a great definition of the form, though I believe I have tried it before. Essentially an Ode is meant to be a poem of praise.

The music is "Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go" by Wham! because that is what the alarm clock is for.

πŸŒ„πŸ”₯βŒ›πŸ•°οΈβ°πŸ”₯πŸŒ„

Miracles Of Life, You Wake Me

Achtung Schweinehund, Get Yourself Out Of Bed

Kingdom Come, Alarm Clock Light Turns Red

Gig, But It's Bird Song Not Music I Hear

⏰

Is That A Fish In Your Ear? No Way

Clothes, Music, Boys To Start My Day

The Scarlet Gospels, Words In Scarlet Light

The Dreamthief's Daughter, Delight

Anger Is An Energy, Now Wake

πŸŒ„πŸ”₯βŒ›πŸ•°οΈβ°πŸ”₯πŸŒ„

The Alarm Clock

social commentaryperformance poetrylist
9

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎ β™«

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me Les β™₯ Gina β™₯ Heather β™₯ Caroline β™₯

Babs β™₯ ROCK β™₯ Dhar β™₯ Cathy β™₯ Judey β™₯

Daphsam β™₯ Misty β™₯ Melissa β™₯ Ma Coombs β™₯

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    I think we have the same alarm clock. ;-) I love the gentle way it wakes me up. Nicely done, Mike!

  • Is that a fish in my ear? No way! That was so funny! Loved your ode!

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    That is a very extraordinary alarm clock! I love your method of construction with this, and the pile-up of books furnishing the hemistiches. It almost feels like the ode itself is the alarm clock, calling you to consciousness with a heap of books just waiting to be read!

  • Lovely poem. The only thing over which I flinched was the beginning of Wham's video where they wear shirts bearing a powerfully meaningful biblical passage once again coopted by the radical right who still believe in the subjugation of women & the right of men/society to deny them autonomy over their own bodies & health care decisions. Even so, I've always loved the song. And I do believe your alarm clock is worthy of an ode, though I'm not sure it classifies as "ordinary", lol.

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    ☺️ I love the sound your alarm clock Mike! And I chuckled when you referred to Wham! πŸ˜†

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    I love this , Love your style of poetry put your own personal twist to it. How can you not get up with your song choice πŸ₯°πŸŽ‰πŸ‘

  • πŸ‘πŸ½πŸ‘πŸ½πŸ‘πŸ½ bravo

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.