Poets logo

A Picture of my Past

A reflection of war

By NatashaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Aditya Vyas on Unsplash

I saw a picture today

A solider killed in a war he didn’t start

Killed in a war he didn’t believe in

His body left behind as others fled,

From the chaos of war only he remains, covered in a blanket of snow

No one who sees him now, will know who he is

No one who knew him before, will know that he died

But I know him

He is my mother’s father

and a portion of him is still living in my mother and me

A portion of him is safe within us

He was my grandmother’s lover

He was my family’s protector

Trying to save them from the atrocity of war

If it wasn’t for him; I would not be where I am today

I saw a picture today

A solider killed in a war he didn’t start

Killed in a war he didn’t believe in

His body left behind as others fled,

From the chaos of war only he remains, covered in a blanket of snow

And while the picture I saw wasn’t of my grandfather

I wondered if it would be, for someone else one day

Another family born of fracture due to one’s man need for power

Another man left people on this earth, who will never get to meet him

I wonder what parts of me are him

I wonder what characteristics I see in my mom I would’ve also seen in him

I saw a picture today

A solider killed in a war he didn’t start

Killed in a war he didn’t believe in

His body left behind as others fled,

From the chaos of war only he remains, covered in a blanket of snow

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.