Poets logo

A New Love

Quarantine Addition

By Eliza VargasPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
A New Love
Photo by Joshua Chun on Unsplash

Before it all happened we were still basically strangers

Sometimes exchanging a brief hello, or maybe even a glance.

I was taken at the time and he couldn't have been more entranced

So the day he found out I was single, he knew he had to take a chance.

Things started out slow, I wasn't quite sure what it was

But something inside me started to buzz.

For every time I saw him my stomach would fill with butterflies

Longing for the next time I got to look into his eyes.

Then the world went dark

Everything shut down right when we seemed to have a spark.

Unsure of whether to stay or go when my freinds went back home

He said, "Stay with me. I don't want you to be alone."

Although fast paced and unusual for the start of a new relationship

Not a day goes by that I regret that conversation with him.

We would talk for hours about everything and anything

From past to present, even the subject of ever marrying.

From that day on my heart longed for every kiss and every touch

And the countless I love you's from dawn to dusk.

It's the little things like the way he makes me laugh or brushes the hair out of my face

Or the way he looks at me and holds me in his embrace.

Niether of us are perfect or would ever claim to be

But I'd be lying if I said I tought our lives now were less then perfect, because I think this is how it was meant to be.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Eliza Vargas

LA, aspiring singer, actress, and writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.