Poets logo

A Mother's Love

It turns into a daughter's guilt.

By Erica ScottPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
A Mother's Love
Photo by guille pozzi on Unsplash

I went by her house today like I said I wouldn’t.

I knew I’d only stay a moment, but a second to her was like an hour for me.

We’ve never been on the same page.

I went and sat in that old leathery chair and watched re-runs of John Wayne until I couldn’t stand it anymore.

I’m not sure if it was the giggle on her breath or the light hug she tried to give.

I told her I was busy, didn’t have time to stay.

And she smiled with the teeth I was afraid of as a kid,

“Come back whenever you can.”

I cried on the way home.

I’m not so sure why.

I told myself I wouldn’t go back.

But I know that’s a lie.

Sometimes the people you can’t stand just need someone to sit for them.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Erica Scott

A young adult, self-proclaimed poet from Florida who writes from a place of uncertainty, just hoping to one day reach the depths of someone else's heart besides her own.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Erica ScottWritten by Erica Scott

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.