Poets logo

A Love Story

A toxic one

By Chukwuka Jessica Published 9 months ago 2 min read
Like

A love story

It’s not what you think, I’m not the victim instead I’m the villain,

I wish it didn’t end this way but it did, sadly I think.

He was the good boy and I was the influence,

I warned him about me but he didn’t listen

He was like a moth drawn to fire and alas the fire burnt him

A broken record I was, but he fixed me

In my darkest times, he was my light

As cringe as that sounds, it’s the truth

Countless mood swings, he was patient

When I’m silent, he patiently waits for me

He didn’t rush me like the others

No, he went at my pace

Even when they where times I thought he would give up, he didn’t

“What happened?” You May ask

Apparently you can’t fix what is already broken because you’ll just end up getting hurt in the process

And so that was his fate, I tried to avoid hurting him

But I guess I’m just like a slow poison

You don’t realize you’re in too deep until it’s too late

And when he realized this, he was too far gone

Now I try, I try for the both of us, I try to finish what he started

Shut my demons out and keep going forward

It’s not as hard as it was before and I guess it’s because I have a purpose driving

But then I ask myself, is it all worth it?

I’ll just end up hurting myself all over again

But then I remember when I actually laughed without faking it and I keep going

In my love story, we live happily ever after like the Disney princesses we hear about

Too scared to come out of the love story,

Too scared to look at him as he sleeps

The beeping of the monitor brings me back

I don’t want to come back to reality and look at what I caused

Then I think, maybe just maybe if I didn’t call him that night because I was too scared to face my nightmares

Maybe just maybe he won’t be on the bed, hanging on by a thread, breathing through a machine

Maybe his life wouldn’t be on a support of machines as he sleep in a coma

I’m to scared to imagine not staring into his milky brown eyes

In my love story we are happy, but in reality he’s in coma

In my love story He has those wrinkles that forms at the corner of his eyes when he smiles, but in reality he looks peaceful, too peaceful, but not in the good way

This isn’t a love story, it’s reality and I fear the outcome of it

heartbreaklove poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.