Poets logo

A lost friendship lullaby

One minute texting

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 13 days ago 1 min read
10
A lost friendship lullaby
Photo by Kelli McClintock on Unsplash

I’m too angry to cry or sob

In five seconds I messaged you

Though my life was wrought with pain, abuse and suffering

I shared with you a single shining moment

In that moment I was not trying to rob

Your energy or take away from your pain

It took less than five seconds to send it, thirty seconds to wait

You also had much to suffer for,

But I believed in our shared platonic love

A shared circumstance, a tragic story of loss and fate,

Once the forty-five second mark hit,

I sensed your silence was dreary and upset

our meeting in the messages was like your back turned to my pleading

Sixty seconds: Death rising in my throat

You wanted me to feel so bad for not waiting to tell you

Weeks after the good news

And for defending myself (after I had to defend my existence for years with the pain of my identity gone)

As I was sticking the knife in my own heart

Sixty seconds turned into forever silence with dew drops of yellow points

That you place on the dipped graph

Elevated points that create the dips in my soul

I wanted to just be your sixty-second turned forever friend

But you created a lost friendship lullaby

And I replay the minute long song in my head like an ear-worm
A soft yellow lullaby that kills my heart slowly

performance poetry
10

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes10 days ago

    Such a beautiful, heartbreaking piece. This right here "I wanted to just be your sixty-second turned forever friend But you created a lost friendship lullaby" That is incredible. Well done, once again.

  • Hannah Moore12 days ago

    This is so well written, such a moment of broken intimacy.

  • "our meeting in the messages was like your back turned to my pleading" This line hit me so hard. Your poem was so heartbreaking and relatable. Loved it so much Merly!

  • Dana Crandell13 days ago

    An emotional minute and a fine challenge entry!

  • Christy Munson13 days ago

    This one stings, in all the best ways as only writing about an experience can. You've carve a moment: "Sixty seconds: Death rising in my throat". Well done!

  • JBaz13 days ago

    Well done for the challenge. A nice touch on how a moment can change a life emotionally

  • Beautiful poem! Sad and beautiful!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.