Poets logo

Sick

-

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 19 days ago 1 min read
9
Sick
Photo by Andras Kovacs on Unsplash

Elisa Lam is the black water

vanished behind the rafters

Peeking like a laughing ghoul with a lit up elevator

No, I am the black water
Sick, so utterly sick

Of playing this weak game

Us

Life

Sick.

I regurgitate into myself
I drain and dip and steep like the most common tea

So rich like a dead moor

A swamp thing without any love door

Closed. Damned. Forgotten.

I'msosick
Infected work with a bloated fly

I was Elisa Lam

Heartbroken and Alive

She is a miniature Alice

Crumbs that take her up like an elevator

In a sick, gargantuan cloud

Of sweet potato-lightning-darling pie

surreal poetry
9

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes11 days ago

    This is very good. I read it a couple of days ago, and forgot to comment it seems. I wasn't sure who she was, which is kind of embarrassing being I'm Canadian.

  • This poem was so good some of the lines were just devastating. Now I’m damn curious to find out what happened to Elisa Lam

  • Tiffany Gordon 18 days ago

    Brilliant work as usual! Praying that you feel better soon...

  • The case of Elisa Lam was so scary and devastating! I hope you're okay Merly 🥺 Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Mariann Carroll18 days ago

    Interesting, I wonder is this self reflection poem or fiction poetry

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.