Poets logo

Love poem #000

-

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 20 days ago 1 min read
6
Love poem #000
Photo by frogses production on Unsplash

what they don’t admit is that

Most love poems come from being scorned by their supposed love,

The one they pour their heart and soul

Cauterize their bone marrow with the kiss of death-defying passion that becomes a ragged scar

No one ever really acknowledges

I will write you the most beautiful fuckin’ love ballad with the most gorgeous, frantically designed concupiscence

The desire in your face,

The petals falling asleep against your frown

So angry, so longing

Longing for others that are not there

Against all odds,

The grief becomes hardened callous

That leak tendrils of

Tragic penalties

The penalty of my ever-forgiving love

As you scorned me

You were once a beautiful house inside the tome

A frenetic gyspy that lingered in my lot

I knew you would dance with a gravity-defying gyration

Like a fluttering of pure white Angel-dove magic

Like a ocean tide turning Goddess with big bright ocean wide eyes

Glittering against the black sea

you were mine

Only in my stupid Poe-dreaded mind

A darling dead Anabel-Lee that pretended to be in Hades

Silent on a prayer of candy-crunch dirty love

I'll write a love ballad with more passion you can handle

Angry Space-Muse-Twilight-Phantom

More importantly

I will never stop

The blood is dipped in black sea ink

And the sweeter the agony

The deeper the gut-wrenched passion will eat me up inside
Hopefully, I will die
Hope

In a study of platonic silence

Melted butter drowning on top of my breakfast

I cram in on my tongue like a daring embrace

art
6

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Penny Fuller15 days ago

    There's a lot of power to this piece. Great work.

  • "The petals falling asleep against your frown" "you were mine Only in my stupid Poe-dreaded mind" I loved these lines the most! Gosh Merly, your poem was so intense and heartbreaking. I loved it!

  • Kendall Defoe 20 days ago

    Food replacing intimacy? Deja vu!

  • Ameer Bibi20 days ago

    You were mine only in my stupid mind. Wonderful narration, subscribed to you to get more beautiful writings.

  • Ameer Bibi20 days ago

    Splendid description of love, heartfelt and relatable.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.