Poets logo

A Letter to My Parents

And others who can relate

By CrybabiPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
A Letter to My Parents
Photo by Jude Beck on Unsplash

Dear Mom and Dad,

I am not an idiot. I am no fool, who has yet to understand the mechanics of life and society.

You follow ingrained rules and argue with me without thinking of conversing and still label me as the disrespectful one. You interrupt my moment of clarification and disagree without understanding.

You have given me food that could fill hundreds of bellies.

You have kept a roof over my head, and allowed for there to be soap and water to shower.

You have fought for me, when you perceived me to be in danger.

You have steered me on a different path, when you felt I needed it.

You have helped me believe I could be more than I what I perceived myself to be.

You have lit something within me.

But you don’t want to understand me.

You don’t want to talk with me, you want to talk for me.

You don’t listen to me, you respond to me.

You don’t inspire me, you annoy me.

You have attacked my ideas. You try to diminish my vision.

You’ve shown me hopelessness and weakness many times.

You have put “debt” upon my life.

You have demanded gratitude, when you’ve only done what you were supposed to do.

You have demanded respect, when you haven’t earned it yet. Regardless of our history.

You have disrespected each other in front of your children. And expect us to see you the same way.

I desire to escape from this disillusioned home.

I question your capabilities as parents.

But still I live.

Still, I kiss your feet.

Still, I work towards a better future for us.

Still I hope to retire you.

Regardless of the past and the present, I still love you.

All the best,

Your Kid

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Crybabi

Ignorance. Experience. Question. Seeking. Revelation. Knowledge. Expression.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.