Poets logo

A Lancashire Abecedarian

For The Vocal Abecedarian Challenge

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 5 months ago 1 min read

Introduction

I thought I was done with this challenge then I was reading Stuart Maconie's "Pies And Prejudice" and he had reached his home town of Wigan and started listing a lot of the odd place names in the Lancashire area. Of course, I thought that might be an idea for a poem. Obviously "Z", "X" and "Q" will be awkward but I will see if I can do it.

In case you are wondering Fred was a girl and the song is Jethro Tull's homage to Blackpool "Up The Pool"

The Prompt

Write an abecedarian poem.

A Lancashire Abecedarian

🌜🗺️🌐🗺️🌛

Accrington Stanley, Back In the League

Blackpool Tower By The Irish Sea

Clifton, Home Of My Sister Yvonne

Darwen, Further Inland, Went There Once

Eccleston, Think They Have Nice Ice Cream

Fylde Is The Place Where I Spent My Teens

🌐

Garstang Home Of My Teenage Crush Fred

Heckmondwike Sounds Like Hail On A Shed

Inskip In The Fylde, A Nice Village

Just To Say Nowhere Here Starts With "J"

Kirkham Where With School I Learned And Swam

Lea Where I Grew Up, And Leyland

Morecambe From Where Eric Took His Name

🌐

Newchurch-In-Pendle Home Of The Witch

Oswaldtwistle Sounds Like You'd Play It

Preston North End, My Football Lot

Quernmore Somewhere I Have Never Been

Ribbleton Where The Ribble Does Stream

Salwick Nuclear Site Where Preston Train

Tarleton Where My Girls Schooled And Played Games

🌐

Upholland Sounds A Most Worthy Name

Verily In Lancs "V"s There Are None

Woodplumpton Home Of The Singletons

EuXton, Nearest To "X" I Can Get

Yealand Redmayne Is Unknown To Me

Zero, Number Of "Z" Places Here

humorsocial commentarylisthow toHolidayFree VerseFor Fun

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Carol

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Joe O’Connor5 months ago

    Both creative and informative! “Just To Say Nowhere Here Starts With "J" is great haha.

  • Oooo, this was really fantastic! I loved it!

  • Kelsey Clarey5 months ago

    This is great! I love how you made some of the letters work.

  • Got most of them. Well done, Mike.

  • Raymond G. Taylor5 months ago

    Ha Ha! Love it. Especially the Zee for Zero. Been to so many of these places

Mike Singleton - MikeydredWritten by Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.