Poets logo

A House Is Not A Home

Finding love and acceptance

By J. R. LowePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
5

A house is not a home.

Although,

Perhaps to the outsider,

Or the naïve onlooker,

It may appear so.

With doors carved from wood,

And walls made of stone,

A kitchen, a bed, a bathroom.

But a house is not a home.

Love was absent there,

Not even a memory of it remained,

Among those decrepit walls.

Father resented my existence,

And Mother never called.

Torn and battered

From Father’s callous ways.

Worn, and shattered,

My pride was his dismay.

If only I could have told him

I didn’t choose to love this way.

Escaping such a house,

In which I was imprisoned,

Was my much needed respite.

Each breath of clean air,

A silent delight.

I have my own house now,

With doors carved from wood,

And walls made of stone,

A kitchen, a bed, a bathroom.

But a house is not a home.

Until one day you knocked,

Upon my wooden door,

Which I had kept locked,

To keep out the hurt before.

But alas you found a way,

To help me let you in,

To repaint my damaged walls,

To fix what lay within.

I feel it now in every room,

It's ecstasy.

I long for nothing else

When you’re next to me.

And it hits me all at once,

I am no longer alone,

Or caught in the grasp of loneliness

I’ve always had a house,

But in your arms, I found a home.

love poems
5

About the Creator

J. R. Lowe

By day, I'm a PhD student, by night.... I'm still a PhD student, but sometimes I procrastinate by writing on Vocal. Based in Australia.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.