Poets logo

A Hearts Cry

My most recent poem after a writing hiatus

By Hazel SteelePublished 7 days ago 1 min read
A Hearts Cry
Photo by Simran Sood on Unsplash

Do you see the person I am inside?

The creature fearful of your deviant lies,

Do you see the pain I hide,

The agony hidden with smiles and sighs,

See me, I beg of you.

My pain screams out into a void.

So heavy this pain, it drags me down,

That I cannot fight it, nor can I make a sound.

Look at me, I beg of you,

Can you see the person who loves you?

Do you see the way my heart pours out?

No, I don’t think you do.

For why would a lover hurt me as you do?

Why would a lover cut so deep into me,

That I am but a shell of a creature lost.

Why, why have you done this to me?

When I have yet to even think of causing you such pain,

Why, when you have my heart in the palm of your hand,

All I ask is what I give in return,

A love filled with respect, not just a longing and yearn,

My heart has burned for you,

But I cannot help, but wonder if you feel it too,

Or simply lit the match to watch as it burns.

Do you see me?

Can you see me?

I am the person who waits in the ashes of the night,

The person hoping that you will stop and fight,

To fight yourself, to fight our demons,

To stand beside me as I fight my own,

I am the person who carries a shield,

A shield to keep all that might injure and mar what I find so dear,

Yet here I stand counting every scar you cast in my way,

Can you see me?

I’ll ask one last time,

Do you see the dead that’s hidden deep inside?

-H.L.Steele

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreakFree Verse

About the Creator

Hazel Steele

Hello, my name is Hazel Steele. I primarily write fictional stories and poems. If requested, I will write works of non-fiction, as I enjoy research and studying.

Thank you for taking the time to glance at my profile.

-H.L. Steele

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • T. Licht4 days ago

    Wow. I can relate. Great poem

HSWritten by Hazel Steele

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.