Poets logo

A Farewell to My Feline Friend

Cherishing Memories of Unconditional Love

By Zain SiddiquiPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
4
A Farewell to My Feline Friend
Photo by Tuqa Nabi on Unsplash

In the hushed moments of that solemn day,

My cherished cat began her fading sway.

Eyes once alive now dimmed, worn and frayed,

Illness gripped her in its relentless raid.

Her soft purr, a cherished, treasured tune,

Now muted by pain, a whisper's croon.

I held her tight, my heart torn apart,

Time stealing away her gentle art.

The vet's solemn words weighed heavy, so drear,

A harsh diagnosis, a burden to bear.

Prayers for moments, for time to freeze,

To cling to her, to embrace memories with ease.

Through the years, her presence filled

Every nook of our sacred space, skilled

In weaving bonds, friendships so true,

Now her absence brings a sorrow anew.

In those final moments, by her side I'd dwell,

Whispering love as daylight's spell

Faded away. Her breaths, a vanishing song,

As she bid adieu and journeyed along.

Tears fell like a downpour, a heavy rain,

Loss unleashing an unbearable pain.

Yet woven in memories, her spirit thrives,

A cherished life that forever survives.

Now, in quiet nights and morning dew's spray,

I sense her presence, her love at bay.

Though she departed on that tearful day,

Her paw prints in my heart will forever stay.

heartbreaksad poetrylove poems
4

About the Creator

Zain Siddiqui

I'm excited to connect with fellow writers and readers from around the world. I invite you to check out my stories and join me on a journey of imagination and discovery. Thanks for reading!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    This was so heartbreaking. I lost my cat two years ago and I miss him so much 😭😭😭

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.