Poets logo

A Day For Living

Gratitude

By Colleen Millsteed Published 6 months ago 1 min read
Photo courtesy of the Author

The pristine blue sky, not a cloud in sight,

The green leaves of the trees waving gently,

The coo of the birds in their good morning delight,

And the surrounding silence is deafening.

**

The breeze flowing through the window

To caress me gently,

Loving tendrils of invisible love,

Weaving over my bare skin.

**

The morning of solitude feels perfectly right,

As the sun dances upon my form,

Kissing where the breeze has left its trail,

Warming my skin to perfection.

**

The pitter patter of tiny feline paws,

Overthrows the power of the quietude,

A soft meow of welcome as she nears,

Sheer pleasure that I have finally awoken.

**

It’s a new day,

A day for living,

A day for breathing, laughing, loving,

And not a day to be taken for granted.

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Originally published on Medium

Free VerseGratitude

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock6 months ago

    Indeed.

  • Julia Schulz6 months ago

    Beautiful work, beloved one!

  • Awww, that soft meow! This was such a wonderful poem!

  • Joe Patterson6 months ago

    Well done. This has a good nature poetry feel.

Colleen Millsteed Written by Colleen Millsteed

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.