Poets logo

A Cloth Most Perfect

A poem

By Matthew FrommPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
22

Come all,

and let me tell you a fantastic tale,

of a treasure unimaginable.

A tale of a subject most perfect,

around an item most ordinary.

It drapes over the oven rack.

Fibers white and black,

a pattern most mundane.

The humble dishcloth works hardest of all.

A loyal workhorse,

receiving not the praise nor songs it deserves.

As if it were imbued with you.

Unwaveringly, it hangs there day after day,

steadfast, night after night,

just the way you like it.

After it cleans every spill,

of pasta sauce

and red wine,

which dot the countertop after we stumble,

dancing under the kitchen lights,

as if they’re the stars over Paris.

After you clean the dishes

you told me to do earlier,

with a coy smile on your face.

When I’m home,

and the dishcloth soldiers through,

cleaning every clumsy mess of mine.

I place it on the counter,

just for a second.

And I contemplate it,

fibers white and black,

a pattern most mundane,

so ordinary a thing.

And I fold it over the oven rack,

just the way you like it,

and I think of us,

and how fortunate I am to cherish someone so

Exceptionally Extraordinary.

inspirationallove poems
22

About the Creator

Matthew Fromm

Full-time nerd, history enthusiast, and proprietor of random knowledge. The best way to find your perfect story is to write it yourself.

Here there be dragons, and knights, and castles, and quests for entities not wishing to be found.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Christy Munson13 days ago

    Wonderful poem. Excellent PoV.

  • Ameer Bibi13 days ago

    I wonder how you people create out if nothing Really love it

  • Shirley Belk13 days ago

    artful and pragmatic=win

  • A wonderful tribute to a mundane item

  • Judey Kalchik 14 days ago

    A love story! perfect.

  • Once again... Excellent work!!!

  • Rachel Deeming9 months ago

    Something so ordinary as the central theme, then transports me into a loving relationship? This is very well done. I too find my poetry coming from the most ordinary of sources.

  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨10 months ago

    lol.. I can’t help but echo Jaxxy’s sentiment! This was such a clever subject…. Because when I think about it? It’s The most used thing in my kitchen… I don’t think I enter the kitchen without us touching 🙈

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    Oh my goodness this was adorable. What the fuck 😩 how did you do this with a towel!

  • Mother Combs10 months ago

    so lovely

  • Hannah Moore10 months ago

    Lovely the way you've turned it on its head here.

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Superbly written!!! Loving it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • The perfect poem so incredibly written to honor the very underrated dish cloth. After reading this I will now see my dish cloth in a new light. I subscribed, left insights, and hearted. Great job!!!

  • Rob Angeli11 months ago

    Very good entry for the challenge. You bring it out for the cherished friend it is. "After it cleans every spill, of pasta sauce and red wine, which dot the countertop after we stumble, dancing under the kitchen lights, as if they’re the stars over Paris." Fine work!

  • Ashley Lima11 months ago

    This is so great. I love the way you weave the relationship into the appreciation for the dish cloth. Very well done!

  • Test11 months ago

    Those effers do deserve some glory. Great ode to the hardest working in the kitchen Matthew. 😊. Very clever.

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Wonderful job.

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    Very nicely redirected. Great entry!

  • Suze Kay11 months ago

    Lovely ode, Matthew. As a pastry chef, people ask me all the time what my favorite tool is - and I'd have to say it's my dishrag! Multipurpose and hardworking.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.