Poets logo

A chocolate ice cream cup

summer memories

By emaPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in Snacktime Sonata Challenge
12
A chocolate ice cream cup
Photo by Chethan KVS on Unsplash

Wind and sand in my hair

the face reddened by the sun

I don't want to get out of the water

as long as you call me

let's go get ice cream!

I walk with you in the hot sand

I need three steps to reach one of yours

and we get to the kiosk but I'm too short

then you pick me up to look inside the fridge

every time I try to choose,

but I always take the same one

a chocolate ice cream cup

when we return to our umbrella it has melted to the right point

and we share it because you say it's too big for a little girl

but there is only one teaspoon and you feed me,

then we exchange it and I feed you,

ice cream drips down my chin

and you smile like you always do

and we look together towards the sea

and when the cup is empty

we fill it with sand to make a new ice cream

and let's pretend to eat that too

and now that you're no longer here

I keep looking at the sea

and pretend that you are next to me.

Family
12

About the Creator

ema

I invent stories, sometimes they need to be written.

Carpe Diem Tempus Fugit.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • D.K. Shepard18 days ago

    So beautifully written! Such a vivid narrative scene concluded with such a wistfulness

  • Michelle Liewabout a month ago

    You just wrote about my fave ice-cream, ema! Congrats on the win!

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Wooohooooo congratulations on your win! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Christy Munsonabout a month ago

    So bittersweetly rendered. Beautiful words. Congratulations on your placement in the Snacktime Sonata challenge! So richly deserved.

  • Kenneth cruzabout a month ago

    Layers of contrast and memories. Amazing work keep it up!

  • angela hepworth2 months ago

    this was gorgeous and heartwrenching

  • Novel Allen2 months ago

    Beautiful way to say goodbye Ema. I love how you gather the momentum into a lovely finishing ode. Well done.

  • Joe O’Connor2 months ago

    I love the doubled pretend at the end of the poem, and how the lines flow into each other throughout this, like memories flooding in all at once. Well-written Ema! “I need three steps to reach one of yours” simple but says everything it needs to.

  • Manisha Dhalani2 months ago

    "let's go get ice cream!" - love hearing this. The poem took a sad ending, but very well written.

  • This was so bittersweet. Loved your poem!

  • Miss Catherine2 months ago

    Ema, I love this!

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Poignantly written and loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.