Poets logo

5 Yrs Ago in June!

When you get tired of looking for him!

By Jennifer CooleyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
5 Yrs Ago in June!
Photo by Providence Doucet on Unsplash

~ 5 years ago in June ~

5 years ago in June

I was hetero-sexual but

I’ve yet to land the hand of the man

Who steals the water that pours from

My self-managed vessel;

It was a perfect summer for a

Heat wave of love, that has lasted

Until November (every year) since then

What does love have to do with

Good timing?

Nothing comes from Nothing,

So something had to happen for me

To find a way to iterate the words of the experience

That lives in every butterfly moment

That I survive the heat wave of my self-managed vessel

Remembering 5 years ago in June,

I guess that’s what an ex- girlfriend is for,

It’s cheaper than a divorce, and it’s risk management for the storm

That wears itself in your history

As you look toward tomorrow or next

Week and the next girl you meet who

Wants to kiss the lips that good summer

He missed his chance to climb the fire escape and enter your room

Through the window (of your heart) and give you the love of your dreams as your

Inner life’s fulfillment lives up to it’s real

Hetero-sexual world that poured from my self-managed vessel 5 years ago in June!

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer Cooley

I've been writing as long as I could hold a crayon! Remember writing my first story like it was yesterday at 5. I remember the details of the day, location, time, excitement & where the story was preserved for all time! Lots Born From That!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.