Poets logo

"2am"

Again...Poppy's Promt

By Pamela Walsh-HoltePublished 6 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
"2am"
Photo by Mpho Mojapelo on Unsplash

It's 2am and here I am again, guilty as sin

With donuts and a cup of coffee to dip them in

I only woke to pee and now look at me

I'm catching a second wind

I am my own worst enemy

I should have gone right back to bed

But I chose to watch TV instead

Tomorrow my eyes will be trimmed in red

and I won't make sense of what's being said

I don't know why I do this s#%t

Yet alas here I sit,

eyes wide open, tablet in hand,

I do my best work between 2 and 3 am!

My internal clock is all off wack

I can't seem to get it back

I really am tired as hell

I pray tomorrow no one can tell

I didn't sleep well, heck I didn't sleep at all

I guess I'm in it for the long haul!

humor

About the Creator

Pamela Walsh-Holte

Retired social worker seaking to find my name among the "Chreators we are Loving", but alas it has not been so. Be still my heart, do not despair, your day may come...Until then I wait, anticipating some, be it ever so slight, recognition.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Kris Mabus5 months ago

    I really like this well said and to the point but made with grace the word flow and show the true tired within you

  • I just noticed I left the "p" out of Poppy's Prompt in my title, and a quick edit won't allow edits in the title, well so it goes!

  • Poppy 6 months ago

    Great humourful tone. I love the phrase "guilty as sin", that pulled me into the poem straight away. Your rhyming was great too. Awesome poem!!

  • Love the humour and rhyme... "I really am tired as hell I pray tomorrow no one can tell I didn't sleep well, heck I didn't sleep at all I guess I'm in it for the long haul! When I get up in the night I try not to let one single thought enter my mind or it can then spin endlessly like this.

  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    That is exactly what happens to me. This is also my song, I write better when all are asleep and quiet reigns. The sleep deprivation sets in. I love it,

Pamela Walsh-HolteWritten by Pamela Walsh-Holte

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.