Poets logo

29 years of Homelessness

Until………….

By Keith GaffneyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Gun Towers and razor fences, count time and lockdown, a town within itself. This is where I lived for sixteen years but that was not my home. I had no home.

Imagine a child lost in the system of hopelessness. Not knowing where they will place him next. But yet like a lamb to the slaughter I followed without protest.

When I’m free, am I free? Free to do what? Free to go where? No home means no home to go home to.

Black child lost, child lost, lost.

until…

until I met my wife and my life changed. After 29 years of homelessness I now have a Home. See a Home is not the same as a dwelling. Nope. A dwelling is just a place of habitation. But a Home….that is different.

A Home is a place only the inner self can visit. It’s a place of true Peace. It’s the breath you take when you can finally relax. The place where you can laugh so hard tears fall from your eyes. Home. My wife is my Home because she make me feel all those things and then some.

I breath easier now that we are together. I haven’t laughed in years due to my former dwelling. Today my wife and I laugh about everything. And Peace, she is the living embodiment of Peace. Home. You know that saying “home is where the heart is”? It’s true, my heart is with my wife and my wife is my Home.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Keith Gaffney

Peace to all those reading this. Here is my life story. It talks of resilience and growth. Pain and redemption. 46 years this story has been in the making, come see life through my eyes. tell me what you see.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.