Poets logo

2024 Goals & Affirmations

2024 New Year New Me

By Alisha WilkinsPublished 5 months ago Updated 4 months ago 2 min read
3
2024 Goals & Affirmations
Photo by Marcos Paulo Prado on Unsplash

I’ve never been one to make New Year’s Goals, aspirations, or affirmations. I’ve never been the superstitious type to believe in the luck of the New Year. I’ve learned over time that things come to us as and when they are meant to appear. And I’ll learn that it’s okay to believe in a little luck as well.

The past year has been a year of collecting my memories and emotions and committing those to paper/text. Utilizing vocal has given me the voice, that I thought had been subdued. I’d like to explore all different types of genres with vocal, spread my abilities and read more by various authors. I’d like to be a supportive voice and help others grow. My goal is to write at least twice a week, if not more. I’d like to hone my skills on suspense and surprise. I’d like to read something different at least once a day to help support other authors.

I recently went through the hardest break up of my life. We’d been together for 18 years. I want to focus on rebuilding myself, finding love for myself, and forgiveness. I’m going to learn to love myself through my words and actions. 2024 is going to be my year of healing and reflections. It’s another challenge, but I’m going to learn to lean on all those who love and care about me. The ones who love me and appreciate me for who I am, not what I can give them.

I’m also in school to become a social worker. So ultimately, my goal is grow. I want to rebuild walls, tear down old walls with cracks in the foundation that will never hold up the ceiling. And learn to love again, through writing, for myself, and maybe with someone else. I want to heal and learn to love myself.

Learning to love yourself is the hardest challenge. Learning to find that inner child and to embrace her as you do all loved ones. It’s going to be an uphill in the snow kind of challenge, but it must be done. I must learn to live for myself and find myself. And then when the time is right, I’ll write that love story again.

New Year equals a New Me. I’m okay with that goal. With that, I’m going to thrive. I’m going to learn to live. I know I sound like a broken record by now, but the focus has got to be on myself. That’s okay. There’s nothing wrong with wanting to heal, to grow, and to become a better individual.

Today…

I am strong.

I am alive.

I am a fighter for me.

I will hold myself up.

I will learn to love myself.

I am beautiful.

I am passionate.

I will make it through the storms.

~

I have an opinion, and I’m allowed to say how I feel.

I can ask for what I need and want.

I can disagree.

I can offer my thoughts, ideas, & perspectives.

I can say no, and not feel guilty.

I can stand up for myself.

~ Alisha ~

inspirationallistGratitude
3

About the Creator

Alisha Wilkins

I've been writing my whole life. Writing about realms to escape in, forbidden characters to fall in love with, and using writing as my muse and refuge. Sometimes writing opens up the soul to healing, learning, and eventually to living again

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Siva N5 months ago

    Nice

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.