Poets logo

#1 Poem: Of Loss and Longing

A Poem For My Late Best Friend

By NivariPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
#1 Poem: Of Loss and Longing
Photo by David Mullins on Unsplash

On January 26, 2022, I lost my best friend — my cat — after a battle with cancer. A part of me died that day.

Many would say I’m being silly just because she was a cat, others would sympathise with me because she was a part of my family for years.

I’m sure many of you have lost someone close to your heart.

So have I.

This poem reflects my love and grief, as well as urge to turn back time.

I still keep your things to remind me of you.

I don’t want to ever forget that you were here.

A sunset, the moonlight, every beautiful view,

They make me feel as though you were near.

Wherever I look, memories of you live,

The pain I feel is beyond measure.

Everything to bring you back I would give,

For you were my biggest treasure.

I would go back in time just to see you again,

I would cry, hug you and kiss you,

Pray for time to stop right there and then

Because that’s how much I miss you.

You would probably not understand it, and I would wish I didn’t, too.

For all I can do now is only to look at your pictures and long for you.

To turn back time, how good it would be!

Wherever you are, please, wait there for me

Until we meet again…

Please, love your family, pets and friends as though the world was ending tonight, because you never know when the time to say goodbye will come.

Disclaimer: This poem was originally written by me on Medium.com Here's the LINK

sad poetry

About the Creator

Nivari

I'm a gamer from Poland that writes sometimes. I wrote fanfiction on AO3 in the past.

Likes: Sunsets, travels, sour candy and self-care

Dislikes: Mean people

Subscribe to get notified whenever I post something :)

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    NivariWritten by Nivari

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.