Poets logo

1/18/2022

No Title

By Bri JenkinsPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
Like

1/18/2022

Years have passed

You’ve gotten to make vows and replace a girls’ last name with your own

The same girl you told me not to worry about

The same girl you told me that I was crazy to think you wanted

The same girl you told, that you couldn’t wait to spend every night for the rest of your lives sleeping next to

Even though I was nuzzled in your arms and under your sheets

Even though those very thoughts you had for her - I had for you…

When I had read that

When everything was said and done, it never was… done

It still isn’t

I didn’t just have to grieve a relationship

I grieved a future that would never be

I grieved children we spoke of raising

I grieved a lifetime

I grieved the person I was before you- a person that still believed in the good

A person that believed in second chances

Because I can never be that person again

That person got me hurt

That person got me heartbroken

That person got me to a point where I had to look in the mirror and change the person I saw

And that person was the worst

Of all the terrible and atrocious things that I’ve endured

The times on the couch I couldn’t wait to get over with -

The time I was sore, saw them zip their pants and it made sense.

The time I made everyone I cared for watch me unravel and make the worst decisions

You

You are the worst things I’ve had to endure

So I hope you get what you deserve - whatever it may be

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreakCONTENT WARNING
Like

About the Creator

Bri Jenkins

Twenty-Six years young.

College Student studying English and Education.

Hopes of becoming an author and want to get my voice somewhere it's appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Bri Jenkins is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.