Petlife logo

More Than A Feline

The Benefits of Photographing Cats for Cats of Vocal and The #CatsofVocal Hashtag

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - July 2022
34
Two #CatsofVocal Watching You

Introduction - Why I Am Writing This

Yeah the title is a deliberate take on the Boston song which kicks off one of the best sides of a vinyl album that you will ever hear, but this is not about Boston it is about cats, the ones that I meet on my daily walks.

As you know I am not a pet person, I am not a children person, I love them as long as I can give them back, though I did raise two wonderful daughters and in my past have had some lovely dogs, but that was then and this is now. I am still in close contact with my daughters and granddaughter, but now on to the cats.

And What Are You Looking At?

In Fenham The Cats Own The Neighbourhood

I once shared a photograph of a cat sitting on a wall with a friend from across the water and she was worried that the cat was lost or abandoned and wanted me to take him to a cat shelter if I saw him again. I told her the cats around here owned the neighbourhood and shared more pictures and that became Cats of Vocal.

Don't I Look Amazing?

I Love To Photograph Cats

Twenty years ago this probably wouldn’t have been an option, then we were just moving to digital cameras but I was still on film, which meant a limit of 36 photographs which you took, sent off to be developed and then hoped that the photographs turned out, most of the time they didn’t.

Now we have our phones with excellent cameras and cloud storage which means we can take as many photographs as we want with no real limitation., which is good because I do meet a lot of cats.

As I have said I am not a pet person, because I am too selfish and lazy, but I get a huge lift when cats actually sit and pose for me and even sometimes come to be petted and stroked.

I enjoy sharing the pictures on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook and I get some beautifully joyful responses, especially on Facebook.

Often when I photograph cats I get to meet and know their owners or people who live near them. All of them are good-natured and we find we have a lot in common and look forward to seeing each other in the future. I have been offered wine, tea and soft drinks as well and some say just knock on our door when you are passing.

Garden Puss

The Benefits of Photographing Cats

I find this situation wonderfully invigorating and essentially it is down tp me going out for a walk and looking for cats to share on Cats of Vocal. The benefits of this are enormous, but I am lucky that I live in an area where cats can roam without fear of attack or being run over by cars.

Owners look out for each other's cats and sometimes when I ask for the cats' names I get told that these cats are just visitors.

Some are magnificent specimens, so are scruffy, some are pristine, some look worse for wear, some are just out of kittenhood and some are very old, but all are wonderful.

Normally I get five to ten photographs when I go out, but yesterday I got nearly forty (about eight cats with five photographs or videos each) which was a heck of a lot even for me.

The walking I do to see the cats and explore new potential areas is hugely beneficial to my well-being.

One of my neighbours

Conclusion

Cats are definitely beneficial to me. I will continue to photograph and share them with you but it’s unlikely I will ever share my house with one, although a few visit me.

Please like Cats of Vocal on Facebook and post your cat pictures on social media with the #CatsOfVocal hashtag.

Thank you for reading and if you want you can even leave a heart, a comment or a tip.

Thank you

cat
34

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Jade Belmont 2 years ago

    Neighborhood cats were always my friends growing up

  • Tia Foisy2 years ago

    I’m a sucker for a cat pic, love this hobby

  • Dana Stewart2 years ago

    Great story and I enjoyed your photos of the cats met on your walks.

  • Congratulations on Top Story. Nice story. I love the photos

  • Congratulations on your Top Story! 💖 I'm not a children person either 🤣

  • Madoka Mori2 years ago

    Haha great article Mike, and a fantastic title!

  • The Dani Writer2 years ago

    Beyond wowed...Meowed! Fantastic piece Mike! Congratulations!

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Gorgeous cats!! Lovely story! Congratulations on top story!!!💖💕

  • Shirley Belk2 years ago

    love the kitties too...thank you!

  • Not a dud in the bunch...neither the iconic Boston album nor the cat pix! Nicely done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.