Petlife logo

Pussy Cats Galore

The Cats I Meet Wandering Round my Neighbourhood

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
3
Pussy Cats Galore

Cats, Cats, Cats and More Cats

It is possible that “Pussy Cats Galore” will be seen as clickbait in this age of the double entendre which has been with us for hundreds of years, and the word Pussy has become almost a single entendre, though for me a pussy is a cat. I first came across the name Pussy Galore in the 1964 James Bond film “Goldfinger” based on the 1959 book by Ian Fleming.

In the book Pussy Galore is the only woman in the United States known to be running an organized crime gang. Initially trapeze artists, her group of performing catwomen, "Pussy Galore and her Abrocats", was unsuccessful, so the women trained as cat burglars, instead.

In the film, she is the leader of Pussy Galore's Flying Circus, a group of women aviators connected with Goldfinger's "Operation Grand Slam.

I was seven when the film came out so the name was just a strange name to me and I only made the connection very recently. I am a slow learner.

So I may have got the attention of some unexpected readers, but up til recently if someone had made an offer of a pussy I would have expected a cat, although if someone was offering ME a pussy it would be a cat.

So down to what I am talking about.

Absolutely Lots Of Pussy Cats

As part of my walking regime, I photograph cats and share the pictures on Instagram with the hashtags #CatsofVocal and #CatsInNam.

These are then shared with the Cats of Vocal, the Facebook group. One the Platinum Jubilee weekend I was on my usual route and was invited to a street party which I couldn't stay, but have been told to look out for more when I am likely to be roped in.

I now know a few of the cat owners, and they tell me their cats’ names. These are a few and with thor pictures. Some of the cats do come to me to be stroked but most run away.

Having said that many just sit and pose, but cats can do that, we are at their beck and call.

My great friend Les loves my cat pictures and she is the driving force behind Cats of Vocal. I was hashtagging as #CatsInNam (or wherever I was staying) but she drove the fun and inclusivity of Cats of Vocal.

Tiggs and Ebony

One of her favourites is Tiggs who I thought had a sore leg, but in fact, only has three legs but is still very mobile and he lives with Ebony.

Checkers

Then there is Chequers (or is it, Checkers, I never asked the spelling of the name) a black and white cat who will sometimes deign to allow me to take his picture.

Bagheera is the Black One

The only other name I can remember is a black cat called Bagheera, named after the black panther in “The Jungle Book” here he is sleeping on the path with his mate.

I think the pictures accompanying these comments are the cats in question.

Greymalkin

There is one I call Greymalkin / Grimalkin but that is probably not his name.

This one is Ben, he is twenty years old.

I was taking this picture and the guy in the house came to the door and said “What Do You Want?”

I said I was taking a pic of his cat for #CatsofVocal. He laughed and said, “It’s not our cat, but he comes to the door, the wife feeds him, so he keeps coming back”. We both had a laugh.

Concluding Pussy Cats Galore

I am loving the cats I am meeting and their owners. Everyone seems happy to show their cats off and I am quite happy to be showing and sharing with you “Pussy Cats Galore”.

Another Couple of Cat Stories

cat
3

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    Lol you never asked the spelling for Checkers

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.