Motivation logo

You Think You Know Me.

You don't know the half of it.

By Theresa EvansPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
You Think You Know Me.
Photo by Leighann Blackwood on Unsplash

I honestly do not know most people think that they know me. I just learned how to love myself first before anyone else, so for those individuals that think they know me well, I have good news for you because you don’t. Don’t keep assuming something about me without even taking the time to communicate with me first. I respect all human life, but if you think that just this fact alone permits you to invade my inner peace and space, you have no idea who you are dealing with when all you have to go on is that we were acquainted with each other a time or two. I am by nature a giver, and because I am a giver, most people tend to think that it is okay for them to cross the lines. Listen, I have put those lines out there so that you can see and understand the women. My past is not pretty, but at the same time, I am glad that the dirt that has and is currently still being thrown on and at me is growing the seeds that I have already planted positively. Think about it like this, every spring, the flowers and trees bloom, right? So keeping this in mind, you have to keep the seeds in soil or dirt and then water it as much as possible so that the kernel can bring out beautiful flowers. I am using the seed metaphor as an example to show that we all have had dirt throws our way, but if we could change our way of thinking about the soil, we will be amazed at what you have grown.

You don’t know anything about me.

No one knows everything about the person that they encounter. It doesn’t matter if you meet the person ten seconds or have known them for 50 years. All you know is what the other person is choosing to show you. No matter how bad the dirt may seem, remember that there is a lesson that you need to learn before moving on to the next stage. For years I guarded my heart against good people and kept giving it away to the wrong people. It took me 30 years to learn that I am always the one walking alone, and for this reason, I am cool with that. Sometimes you have to be alone to find out who you indeed are as a person. Are there some parts of my life that I wish I could do-over? Of course, but I no longer look at my past as a wall that will never come down. I learned how to break those walls down, and yes, I did have a support system to help me along, but I also realized that I have to change a lot of the other people that were and still are in my past. I know now that they were only there for that season, and for that, I am grateful.

You think you’ve got me figured out.

It’s funny to me how people assume that they have you all figured out, and they don’t even have themselves all figured out yet. They are so quick to assume the worst about you before getting all of their facts straight first. I use to be the one that would get mad at others for displaying this kind of behavior towards me. However, now I don’t get angry about that anymore because I realize that they are still broken, and the only way for them to survive in their mind is to attack and demoralize you for being positive and a go-getter. If you do not have yourself figured out by now, you are the one with the problem, not me. I know what I am saying is harsh, but it has to be said because I will and forever know my Worth.

You don’t know the half of it, be careful when you spout; you don’t know what’s nearly broken me or how far I’ve climbed. You don’t know what’s almost buried me or how often I’ve barely survived.

These things I carry inside of me, this pain that is the only reminder of how far I am willing to go to keep my inner peace.

My inner peace is Mines, not yours or anyone else’s.

Instead of judging me for who you think I am, how about just trying to be kind?

happiness
1

About the Creator

Theresa Evans

I am a woman on fire for the love of life and being able to reach one life at a time through my words. If I can reach one then I can teach one the art of healing one's self from the inside out all mentaly

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.