Motivation logo

Strange isn't it?

“You know yourself better than anyone else, yet you crumble at the words of someone who hasn’t even lived a second of your life. FOCUS ON YOUR OWN VOICE, it’s the only one that matters.” (The Open Mind.)

By Theresa EvansPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Strange isn't it?
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

I was the one that never listens to my own voice. For years I was the one that was stuck on others, not wanting to hear what I had to say. Now that I am a writer/author and publishing my first book, it is liberating. Knowing that my words matter to others and seeing how it has changed more lives than just my own, I have gained my focus and confidence back.

You have to be able to find that outlet that works for you and not against you. Writing is my outlet because it gives me the chance to mentally take out all of the trash that has been stored away for years. It is strange for me to sit here and put my heart and soul into my writing because there have been so many traumatic situations that can be overwhelming that it does take me a while to find the balance. I know that what has happened to me is in my past, but sometimes the past has a funny way of showing its face back up when you think you have mentally gotten over something.

I am not saying that you should forget what you have been through; all that I am saying is that you should find that happy place when you are taking out your own mental trash. It’s not about bringing yourself or others down; it is about learning how to live in the moment positively. We all have issues in life, but that doesn’t mean that we have to stay on the negative side of things because we are sad or upset about something.

It took me years to realize that my life is more than just about helping others; it is about making sure that the star players on my team are also good, but I have to make sure that I am good first because, without me, my team could not be as good as they are for me. I use to be the one that would crumble when others spoke badly about me, but now I look at it differently. If the person is giving the information, I am already looking at the source of where this person is getting their information from. If I see and know without a doubt that this person is creditable, then I will be more than happy to hear what they have to say. At the same time, I am also looking at the other person's intentions. If you intend to hurt me, I will cut you off because I do not have time to waste on others showing me who they truly are to look good and feel good about themselves.

No one can tell you how you should think and feel about a situation when they themselves could not walk a mile in your shoes. This is why I know in my heart that no one can live your life and tell your life story better than you. Learning to lean into your own inner voice is hard sometimes, but when you slow down and take the time to listen to your own voice, everything else is irrelevant. This is your one life, and you should fight for it with everything you got because no one else will fight harder for it than you are.

So does this make me strange for knowing myself better than anyone else? Of course not, or at least I should be the one to know myself better than anyone else because I am the one that has to live in this body all day. I know that finding your voice is not an easy task, but if you already know what pain feels like daily, then you already know what you don't what in your life and that is the first part to finding and listening to your voice.

self help
1

About the Creator

Theresa Evans

I am a woman on fire for the love of life and being able to reach one life at a time through my words. If I can reach one then I can teach one the art of healing one's self from the inside out all mentaly

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.