Motivation logo

Who Am I?

In order to be considered “woke” you have to look in the mirror first.

By Mya FrancisPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Who Am I?
Photo by Felicia Buitenwerf on Unsplash

Who am I?

The type of girl that was insecure and wanted more out of the love that she was getting cause she didn’t have enough love to give herself. The type of girl that needed validation and acceptance from the worst type of people because She couldn’t accept herself. Looking in the mirror with her head down cause society said her appearance wasn’t pretty enough when it was up. So she covered up her hair and face so she didn’t have to hear the negative comments that was so fucked up. When I thought back on these times in my life I was like “Damn”! Cause even though that’s who I WAS, that still makes me WHO I AM.

Who am I?

Someone who has their own experiences with love and always tried to figure out who’s the right one to trust. Feeling like the victim every time they broke my heart into two but didn’t seem to realize that I was toxic too. I saw a pattern begin to happen, they came along, I got attached, and then they leave. But the toxic pattern with me was that I always wore my heart on my sleeve. Ready to confess love and give all this affection to men who just weren’t that interested in me. I know these experiences with men was a test from Yah and I failed em all like an exam. But even though that’s who I WAS, that still makes me WHO I AM.

Who am I?

A girl who let her enemies live rent free in her head to the point where anger consumed her from any words that they said. She tried to reframe from being just like her mother but didn’t realize she was becoming more and more like her. Anytime the past was brought up it took her out of her element and the thought of seeing her in public would make her show so little etiquette. She had to learn that in order to be her own person, she had to let it go. She couldn’t hold onto the past and she could no longer steep so low. It’s okay to not want to forgive and never forget just as long as it doesn’t make her heart upset in the process. Change is good and even the people she’s hated can change too. But that doesn’t mean she’s forgotten what they use to do. They can a full 360 degrees on their personality and my opinion will still stand. Cause even though that’s the person they WAS, that still made me WHO I AM.

Who am I?

A girl who is now a young woman, who now knows who she is. She doesn’t need anyones validations or advice that only makes her mind fizzed. She keeps her head held high and doesn’t feel the need to look backward cause she knows if she does, she’ll always trip moving forward. She doesn’t have time for the negative energy and she doesn’t need to express her feelings in a book as long as a documentary. She’s stronger, wiser, but most important, righteous. And she ain’t got time to fool with people who are soulless and lifeless. The only reason she can be all these things is because of one realization: you can only address who you are when your mind leaves this matrix. Cause you can see through the bull shit when people try to play tricks at a great risk. Nobody has to accept the truth or the changes I’ve been through, I’m just looking for Yah to give me a chance. Cause even though this all was about who I WAS, it still makes me WHO I AM.

Who am I?

happiness
2

About the Creator

Mya Francis

Hello to all my viewers, I have created this platform to share my life experiences of love, self care, growth, and spirituality. I hope you enjoy reading my poems as I continue my journey until the end.

One love

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.