Motivation logo

Where is the ambition?

What do you want to be?

By InvestirQBPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
1
Where is the ambition?
Photo by Philip Strong on Unsplash

Since our childhood we have been questioned with:

What do you want to be when you grow up?

We've certainly all been asked this question by our parents, family and friends, but this is a question that most of the time we don't know how to answer, as it was no different for me. In my case, when I didn't have an answer, my parents just smiled, because they didn't even have the answer themselves, they just told me, you have to have a job that guarantees you security so that you can have stability and start a family.

Unfortunately or fortunately, I never had much support or the need to look for a future that I identified with, and as such, I ended up not even trying to look for what I wanted, which turns out to be normal, being educated in a slightly more limited way when it comes to respect for one's own ambitions. As such, for me it was something already outlined, I was never encouraged to pursue such an ambition.

In my parents' minds, if I had a job that paid the bills it would be perfect, it didn't matter what I did, for them high-quality and well-paid professions were out of the question, as this was supposedly only for people from rich families and of great positions; I know that college is not a cheap education for most families.

As my parents' mentality was too closed, mine was also not easy to open up and I reached adolescence without knowing exactly what I wanted, which for me would be normal.

I saw several of my childhood friends following their dreams that they had been guided by since they were little and doing what they wanted to start their careers and that was when my demotivation began.

I worked as a cashier in a hypermarket, I was a salesperson, I was a waiter, etc., in other words, all those jobs that don't require a lot of qualifications. As we know, most of these jobs that don't require many requirements also have a fairly low salary.

When I realized that I wouldn't be able to have the financial and personal freedom that I so desired, I fell into a very harsh reality;

Who am I? Who do I want to be? What is my ambition? Do I have it?

I started exercising my mind by asking myself what I wanted, but I only started with these questions thanks to my wife who created this confidence and influence in me, like I had never had in my life.

I realize that the people we interact with bring out a lot of who we are deep down inside!

My first goal to achieve was to make up for lost time and resume my studies, to later apply to college, at that point I had already decided to pursue engineering. At first I confess that I thought I would never make it, because the echo of my childhood was still with me.

These were very difficult times, as the ability to work and study requires a lot of effort, financial balance was often challenging, but I know that at least once in my life I had a goal and that made a motivation grow in me, for which I have no words. to describe.

This step was not only important for me, but it was also important for my parents, although they never demonstrated it, because with this I was able to prove that with determination and discipline we can be everything we aspire to be.

Today I remain motivated and I am always willing to learn, because I know that anything in which there is ambition is possible to achieve, we just have to believe.

It's never too late to set goals!

The ambition is to believe and invest in what truly completes us.

happinesssuccesshow togoals
1

About the Creator

InvestirQB

Passionate about investments, blending personal growth and financial success. I share practical insights to guide informed financial decisions.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Nikola Ilic3 months ago

    Instructive

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.