Motivation logo

When Life Is Overwhelming

How to survive when life keeps handing you lemons

By Jade KellyPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1

Everyone knows how life can truly be a rollercoaster. Sometimes it's fun, sometimes it's scary, and sometimes it's everything in between. What do you do when everything is all happening at once and you can't catch your breath? If you're like me you probably start to go into a depression or forget to breathe. Your thoughts take over with "everything SUCKS! I can't do this! Why me? Why is this happening? I can't go through this again!" Those thoughts can be intense and debilitating and downright scary. And after those moments of life where you think you can't handle anything more something amazing or incredible happens and you are once again excited and can get through your day or week or year.

There have been moments in my life where I absolutely thought it was the end of the world. How was I going to get through it and be happy again? I didn't see any solutions to the problems I was facing at the time but now I realize that maybe through those trials I was becoming a lot more resilient and resourceful. I would play the cards that were dealt to me no matter how bad they were.

First..

Recognize that this horrible time in your life is teaching you things you might need to know or learn. Wow, that's definitely a cliche but it's absolutely true. When we're in these storms of our lives we don't realize or recognize the lesson. We just think "This is hard!" Our minds play a lot of tricks on us. How many bad things have you dealt with and how did you get through it? How many times have you been told "You're not given a bad or a good life, you're just given a life and it's up to you to make the best of what you have"? That quote seems simple enough and makes complete sense.

Second..

If life seems bad right now recognize what you need to do to fix the issue and come up with solutions. Nothing is absolute.

So you're going through a storm and than.. Something amazing and beautiful happens.. Expect the unexpected right? When I was working at Rite Aid in Idaho a very long time ago I was really struggling financially. I wasn't able to do what I wanted. I was working my regular shift as a cashier and one of the pharmacists walked up to the register, brought me a soda and handed me an envelope saying "I hope this helps." I had other customers behind him so I took the envelope, told him I would see him later and continued my shift. I thought about the envelope until my shift ended that day. Finally, it was 9 PM, I counted out the register and headed home. As soon as I walked into the house and went to my bedroom I opened the envelope. It contained $100 in cash with a note. I did not expect this or ask for it. It was a simple act of kindness when I truly needed it. Even though things were going badly there was a silver lining that came through the clouds.

So what do we do when we're overwhelmed? Think of solutions, instead of problems, make a list of things that make you happy, talk to someone about the issue. Maybe they've gone through it and can help you come up with a resolution.

STOP.THINKING.ABOUT. IT.

When we continue to think about something it takes over our lives. Take a break from whatever it is that you're dealing with and find something else to do. If you can not fix it now than come back to it when there's an answer.

When I go on YouTube I look at these people who have gone through a horrific tragedy and I wonder how they are still moving forward. A young woman was diagnosed with Meningitis and became a quadruple amputee. What she does now is simply amazing and beautiful. She started her channel so others can be inspired by her resilience and the ability to adapt to what happened to her. She does her makeup with no arms and stubs. I just don't know how she does what she does.

I am not sharing her story to make anyone feel as if their struggles do not matter. All of our struggles matter because we are the ones going through it. I am not in your head, nor are you in mine.

We all have things that we must accomplish in our day to day lives. We all have jobs, pets or kids, and responsibilities such as bills and cleaning. All of these things require our time and attention. What if there are 500 things you want to accomplish and you just know there is not enough time to do it in? This can leave us with anxiety and instead of getting anything done nothing happens which in turn can spiral into more anxiety and depression. We're left feeling guilty, and unaccomplished. We ridicule and compare ourselves to others. Do not do this. Every person on Earth accomplishes things in different stages of their lives. You don't have to do everything to have value.

Feel all the feelings. I mean feel them. Cry if you have to. When we have unexpressed emotions it can come out in different ways. We may lash out at someone who was simply trying to help or just react differently. Hiding and holding in our emotions can have deadly health consequences. Write out these feelings, sing them, etc.

Remember your "Why".. Why are you doing what you are doing? Are you studying for an exam and it's really starting to get the best of you? Think about all the reasons you need to do well on this test, what you're trying to accomplish and keep pushing through it. When you have a clear purpose or reason why we're doing something we're able to accomplish it easier with less anxiety and guilt and more excitement.

At the end of the day remember to reward yourself for something you've achieved. Take a break. Stay healthy and keep moving. I know I haven't quite figured out life yet but I'm slowly pushing through the overwhelming thoughts in my head. You can too.

Breathe. It'll all be okay.

Stay beautiful.

Always,

-Jade-

healing
1

About the Creator

Jade Kelly

Writer, lover of all things creative- poetry, music, movies, dogs, friends, Netflix, books, etc.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.